ARC Review : The Visitor by Amanda Stevens

Leave a comment

March 28, 2016 by thebookslayer

The Visitor by Amanda Stevens

Release Date : March 29th

The Visitor (Graveyard Queen, #4)My name is Amelia Gray. I’m the Graveyard Queen.

Restoring lost and abandoned cemeteries is my profession, but I’m starting to believe that my true calling is deciphering the riddles of the dead. Legend has it that Kroll Cemetery is a puzzle no one has ever been able to solve. For over half a century, the answer has remained hidden within the strange headstone inscriptions and intricate engravings. Because uncovering the mystery of that tiny, remote graveyard may come at a terrible price.

Years after their mass death, Ezra Kroll’s disciples lie unquiet, their tormented souls trapped within the walls of Kroll Cemetery, waiting to be released by someone strong and clever enough to solve the puzzle. For whatever reason, I’m being summoned to that graveyard by both the living and the dead. Every lead I follow, every clue I unravel brings me closer to an unlikely killer and to a destiny that will threaten my sanity and a future with my love, John Devlin.

“I couldn’t help but obsess over my visitor’s ominous prophecy. What you are, I once was. What I am, you will someday become.

The Visitor begins with just that, a visit from the other side. Ms. Stevens does not allow you, dear reader, to settle into that lovely southern comfort. Amelia is being summoned. She is about to find out just how much she still has to learn about her heritage.

“One by one, the pieces of my life had fallen into place with that journey to Asher Falls. But there were still blank spaces, still too many secrets that had yet to be revealed. How it would all come together and where it would end remained a terrifying mystery.”

The unknown can most definitely be unnerving. I love how Ms. Stevens knows how to bring to life the surreal and creep me out. Every time I thought that it couldn’t get any more creepy, it did. (shudders) I loved every minute of it. 😉

We also start to see how fragile Amelia and Devlin’s relationship is. How much has not been shared between them. Don’t get me wrong, Devlin is still as protective as ever, if not more so, but the moments of silence between them seem to hit hard. It doesn’t help that Amelia is beginning to suspect that Devlin is not so unaware of things beyond the grave. Amelia is not the only one on the road to self discovery either.

“If only I could peer through the keyholes of my eyes and know the future, perhaps I could somehow change my destiny. But how did one fight preordination? How did one combat fate?”

The plot twists and turns throughout bringing to light pieces for not only Amelia but those she cares deeply about. It would seem that whether by pure coincidence or by the hand of fate each in their own right wind up at a turning point in life, a crossroad. While each must make their own choice, one does affect the other as the pieces start to click together.

I do not wish to spoil the book for any of you so I will refrain from going into all the details, since the fun is in discovering them for yourself. I will leave you with what, in my opinion, are words of wisdom from Dr. Shaw to Amelia as her life seems to be coming undone.

“A true calling should never be ignored, my dear. It invites disruption and makes for an unsettled life.”

And an unsettled life is exactly what I would say Amelia has been dealing with since Asher Falls.

Recommendation : If you love paranormal, especially those who have the second sight, this series is for you.

Rated :

*ARC provided by MIRA in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

