ARC Review : Crimson Frost by Jennifer Estep

Leave a comment

January 16, 2013 by thebookslayer

Crimson Frost by Jennifer Estep

Release Date : It already happened so go out and buy it!

Crimson Frost (Mythos Academy, #4)For a moment, a face flashed before my eyes—the most hideous face I’d ever seen. No matter how hard I tried to forget what had happened, I saw him everywhere I went. It was Loki—the evil god that I’d helped set free against my will.

I should have known that my first official date with Logan Quinn was destined to end in disaster. If we’d gotten into a swordfight, or been ambushed by Reapers, I’d have been more prepared. But getting arrested mid-sip at the local coffee hangout? I didn’t see that one coming.

I’ve been accused of purposely helping the Reapers free Loki from his prison—and the person leading the charge against me is Linus Quinn, Logan’s dad. The worst part is that pretty much everyone at Mythos Academy thinks I’m guilty. If I’m going to get out of this mess alive, I’ll have to do it myself…

Crimson Frost steps up the game with the arrival of the Protectorate. Now I know that Gwen is a magnet for all things horrible, but this arrival is one of the worst timed ones yet.

Logan actually takes Gwen out on a date…in front of the whole school. As you know, this is huge. Mr. Popular, all-star Spartan, can-do-no-wrong Logan is officially dating Gwen the crazy, poor gypsy girl. That’s right, he wants to make it official and yet when they go out for an innocent coffee all hell breaks loose, again.

To make matters worse the head of the Protectorate is none other than Logan’s father, Linus Quinn. You heard right, all that pent-up daddy anger issues get to come to light in this book. Oh and he brings along his wife, Logan’s stepmother. The joy ride just keeps getting better for these two teens, but I am getting ahead of myself.

Gwen and Logan are out on a date and the Protectorate shows up. Why, you ask? To arrest Gwen.

For What?

Crimes against the Pantheon…

Freeing Loki

We know that Gwen did not free Loki, however, since only a handful of people where there that day her actions are coming into question. Why? You will never guess who has decided to show back up. No really, you won’t. I would never have thought this person would show their face on school property again. I would have have been and was wrong.

This person claims to be Nike’s real champion and that Gwen is Loki’s champion and has been going around doing all these bad things and claiming it was her. Can you guess who it is now?

Vivian Holler

We have the Protectorate there to hold a trial between Vivian and Gwen to see who is lying and who is telling the truth. This cannot end well.

Let’s Recap what is going on.

We have Gwen and Logan trying to make a start with their new relationship. The Protectorate is willing and ready to deal out some series punishment to Gwen for “setting Loki free” and Vivian has who-know-what planned to accomplish for Loki.

This book is non-stop drama from beginning to end. The question is will Gwen be able to clear her name and manage to take Vivian down before more deaths can occur? And will Gwen and Logan ever get the chance at a normal relationship?

All I can say is this ending was so far from what I expected, it took a while to come to grips with it. I am honestly impressed that Ms. Estep went there. I mean, that was brutal. But I have hope that everything will right itself in the end. *fingers crossed*

Recommendation : This is a great addition to the Mythos Academy series. A must read series in my opinion. So if you are looking for a book about extraordinary teens trying to save the world, give this one a try.
Rated :

I want to thank the Kensington Publishing Corp. via Netgalley for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

