Bad Book Denial – When you just can’t let a book go.

21

January 9, 2013 by thebookslayer

This is a Book Slayer Book Emergency Alert!

Bad Book Denial has been running rampant throughout book lovers all over the world. Please stay tuned for more information on how to spot this problem. 

 

Ever have a book that you have been looking forward to for so long that when it arrives you think you found the holy grail? Or maybe you have been hearing about a book that everyone loves and you picked it up to experience its greatness? Heck, it might be a book you just randomly picked up because it looked so awesome you couldn’t wait to start reading.

You find that special spot to sit down, all you book lovers know what I am talking about, after getting a drink and maybe something to snack on you snuggle down in and start reading.

The first paragraph just doesn’t grab you but you keep reading, telling yourself it is only the first page.

Welcome, my fellow readers, to the first stage of bad book denial. 

Stage 1
First Page Forgiveness

I am guilty of this one. I have forgiven tons of books for their terrible, horrible, no good very bad first page. What do we, my fellow readers, keep doing? Reading. And so our denial begins with a small inadequacy of the book.

But wait! We are now 10 pages in and your attention keeps wandering to the last Walking Dead show. I mean could you believe that this season ended with Daryl being caught and possibly killed?! I am outrage!

Oh where were we? That was right. Our attention is not on the book but we should really give it 50 pages. Maybe this is the author’s first book or you love the author’s other books so much that you just know 50 pages in it will all be better.

You just entered stage two of bad book denial. 

Stage 2
The Fifty Page Promise

I typically make myself read the first 50 pages. You just never know if you could be missing out on a great book otherwise. So we tell ourselves it will all make sense and grab us by page 50.

That 50 page mark hits and you feel like you just walked through miles of mud. It is clinging to every part of you but you won’t give in. Some of the characters aren’t horrible and the plot could pick up just right around the corner.

You take a deep breath and plunge into the book again. It will happen, you just know it.

Hello stage three. 

Stage 3
The Big Push Compromise

At this stage you are holding out for the amazing part of the book to be revealed. I mean a favorite author wouldn’t let you down or so many other people couldn’t possibly be wrong about this book, so you dive back in with a small glimpse of hope.

Crap! You are now over halfway through and it still sucks. You are at the crossroads, my fellow readers. Do you continue? Or do you admit defeat? Never! This book looked good and was praised. You will not back down. Time has been spent and you must finish.

Oh stage four, how you can ware on a person. 

Stage 4
The Final Standoff

This one tends to feel like a standoff between you and your book, because while you have been disappointed you must finish and maybe it will end okay. This stage may contain lots of skimming and ho humming about.

If you have hit this stage you’re already deciding on whether to write a negative review or not. Yet you still read on.

Once you get to that last page this scenario is the one most likely to occur.

The end of the book is promptly followed by its sudden and mysterious flight across the room where it lands with a thud on the floor. Much profanity will follow for you now realize that you pushed through all 4 stages of bad book denial and wasted your time and money reading this awful book.


This will typically be followed by a review of some sort. You lost time and money. You must keep others from falling into this trap as well. Rant or just a mild negative review, it has to all be said. Once you have typed up and posted your review you still feel unfulfilled.

Waiting the coffee to get colder

That’s the worst part of bad book denial. You are never the same after this and the need for an outstanding book pushes you to ask everyone and anyone for a fool-proof book recommend.

But beware. Make sure you don’t allow bad book denial to happen again. It is a vicious cycle that must be broken or you might just find yourself standing at the door of your favorite book store preaching about bad book denial. It’s true, I saw it on the internet and the internet can’t publish anything that isn’t true. 😉

Remember to pass along the 4 stages of Bad Book Denial. Save a book lover from unnecessary heartache by keeping them informed.

This has been a Book Slayer Book Emergency Alert. Thanks for stopping by. 

21 thoughts on “Bad Book Denial – When you just can’t let a book go.

  1. Braine says:

    I hardly go through this anymore because I’ve learned to DNF books! The last time I tried this method was for J.K. Rowling’s Casual Vacancy but it was getting more and more painful to read with every passing page so I just decided that I’m not one of those fortunate readers who found the unicorn in the book because I just didn’t like it.

    • Omg! That is hilarious. I haven’t even picked that book up. To be honest I am afraid I will have the same reaction.

      I need to be better about letting books go. I even have an on-hold shelf for goodreads. Reality of it is they should all be on my CNF shelf but I just can’t do it. Lol. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. booksavvybabe says:

    LOL, you’re right on with the bad book denial. I’ve had to get tough with myself a few times and just put the book down… and then leave it down. We need a support group…. Book Savvy Babe

  3. Julie says:

    LMAO! Love this post, and it’s so true. Right now, I’m going thru that with Kresley Cole’s Immortal After Dark Series. The books have a less than amazing start I would normally DNF on other books, but I’m trying to get to Lothaire and find out what all the fuss was about – though, in IAD’s defense, by the end of each book, so far, I start liking it (except book 3, there was no saving that for me LOL).

    And I totally agree with Daryl. WTF was up with that? Not even a scene about it? LOL
    *huge hugs*

  4. Lmbo. I’m… well. I stop at Stage one.. well.. before Stage One even finishes. >.< Great post, Amanda 🙂

    P.S. Where's your gabby button ? 😦 You needs to be on my blog roll!

    Ana♥

    • P.S.S (or is it P.P.S?? — -______-) I can’t… no words… DARYLLL!!!!! *sigh* February is almost here ^_^

      Ana♥

    • I don’t have one. I have been trying to get my hubby to draw me a new picture for my blog, but he hasn’t gotten to it. lol I will let you know when I get it.

      BTW, I am proud of you for stopping after or before stage one. I really suck at doing that.

      • Lol.

        For Amanda’s hubby: MAKE HER BLOGGY BUTTON! PLEASE and THANK YOU! lol

        ^_^ yay for being proud of me. I’m pretty proud of myself too. I really dislike torturing my poor mind. It’s quite different with requested reviews though, I feel like I HAVE to finish the book. but if I really can’t I at least push for that “half way mark” so I can at least write an honest enough review. Well, now that you’ve written out the denial phases, this should help you. or… I hope it does. lol

        Ana♥

      • lol I know. I will have to tell him that you told him to get on it. Maybe with enough pressure he will get it done. 😉

        I know what you mean about review requests. If I ask for it, I try to finish and write a review. However, sometimes it’s best if I don’t b/c well.. I can be brutally honest and let’s face it, not ever author can handle that. lol

  5. Lol if pressure will work then…. *puts up a petition* HEAR YE, HEAR YE!! lol…

    lol I know what you mean. I try and not be so snarky with books I didn’t like.. but sometime, the snark just takes on a life of its own :O that’s all bad lmbo.

    • I know you just can’t hold it in. It burst out of you and before you know it you have a review all about how awful it was and how you would rather watch Yo Gabby Gabby than have to read that book again.

      • lmbo @ yo gabba gabba. That reminds me of lil cousin. Seriously though, oh man. there was a freebie I got a while back and when I started reading it… oh my lanta… after about 10 pages I gave up. Hell nah. Didn’t write a review, didn’t look at the book again. It was an erotica, but it was… horrible. I’d rather clean the house… okay.. wait.. no, I’d rather watch yo gabba gabba lol.

      • lmao. You know it’s bad when you can’t get through 10 pages and you would rather do a chore over read.

  6. Pixie says:

    Lol, love this post! Often, I’ll stop at Stage Two, or right before Stage Three…but I really try to push through the whole book if I can and rate/rant in a review from there.

    OMG, Daryl. I love you. I have Walking Dead withdrawals right now. 😦


    Pixie

  7. Kristin says:

    I’m in this right now. But I promised a review, and its not a horrible book, its just a semi-ok book,….maybe….

  8. Can I get an amen,. I was LOL but its so true. There have been some books time I wish I had got back from reading them. I ended up doing bad reviews of the books. But there are times when a bad review must be done.

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

