ARC Review : Scent of Magic by Maria V. Snyder

2

December 5, 2012 by thebookslayer

Scent of Magic by Maria V. Snyder

Release Date : December 18th

12027429Hunted, Killed—Survived?As the last Healer in the Fifteen Realms, Avry of Kazan is in a unique position: in the minds of her friends and foes alike, she no longer exists. Despite her need to prevent the megalomanical King Tohon from winning control of the Realms, Avry is also determined to find her sister and repair their estrangement. And she must do it alone, as Kerrick, her partner and sole confident, returns to Alga to summon his country into battle.Though she should be in hiding, Avry will do whatever she can to support Tohon’s opponents. Including infiltrating a holy army, evading magic sniffers, teaching forest skills to soldiers and figuring out how to stop Tohon’s most horrible creations yet; an army of the walking dead—human and animal alike and nearly impossible to defeat.War is coming and Avry is alone. Unless she figures out how to do the impossible … again.

It all started with Poison Study. My love for Ms. Snyders books stemmed from that book alone. I fell in love with Yelena and Valek and while I have loved other books, because I have many, many loved books/characters, I do have a special spot for Poison Study.

Why go through all the trouble of mentioning Poison Study on my Scent of Magic review? Simple, when I say that I do enjoy Avry and Kerrick but I have my doubts you know that is it because of my love for the Study series. Unfortunately, for the Healer series I will always be comparing it to the Study series. So, I have to say that while I enjoy Avry and Kerrick’s interactions, I find I miss Yelena and Valek. I miss the independent-no-nonsense assassin’s assistant and her myserious assassin man. I miss a man that knows who and what he is, not a man who only wishes he were free from responsibility, but I am getting ahead of myself.

Scent of Magic…

When I first picked up this book I had a hard time getting into it. My main issue was that Avry and Kerrick were splitting up and going separate ways. This reminded me of the second book to the Study series and I wasn’t happy about it then or now. I wanted a bit of a different twist. I have to report that yes, this book had twists and turns that threw me.

If you read Touch of Power than you know that Avry actually does die but thanks to Kerrick and the Death Lily she was brought back to life. Avry and Kerrick really don’t understand how or why this happened but who were they to look a gift horse in the mouth?! I sure as hell wouldn’t question it if my loved one came back from the dead, as long as they weren’t a zombie. *shudder* No, Avry is not a zombie.

After their heartfelt reunion they both decide to split up. Avry feels that she needs to give her sister a second chance at freedom from the wicked witch, Jael. Kerrick is not a fan. That is an understatement but Avry won’t let him persuade her otherwise. She is determined to make amends with her last surviving relative and so into the belly of one of the beasts she goes.

Kerrick, on the other hand, decides that he needs to rendezvous with the rest of his company, friends. They are at Prince Ryne’s castle. Oddly enough his journey there goes almost, and I stress almost, without a hitch.

He finds himself surrounded by dead ufas, with there sharp claws and razor-sharp teeth. Who other than Cellina, Tohon’s go-to woman, is leading this pack. She is to…

“report every detail of [Kerrick’s] death and dismemberment to him. [Cellina has] also been ordered to bring home a souvenir.”

You can imagine that didn’t sit well with Kerrick but what could the man do but wait for the signal.

Meanwhile, Avry has hit a snag on her end. Her plan of going in and talking to her sister was changed the minute she entered Mom’s place. She was practically surrounded by Estrid’s army. They claimed to be missionaries, spreading the creator’s message of peace and recruiting people for the army. They won’t come out and say it, but that was what they were there to do, with or without the recruitee’s consent.

Avry weighed her plan as Mom helped her change her appearance. Should she continue with her original plan and get in and out of Estrid’s camp with her sister or should she join their ranks and help where should could before continuing on with her task? Her mind was made up the minute she realized how bad the army’s recruiters were at moving in the woods. They would need all the help they could get to go up against Tohon. With her mind made she quickly devised a plan and put it into action.

“Fact is, I’m interested. You know I’m skilled. Four of your guys couldn’t catch me. I can fight for Estrid, but I don’t want to be a draftee, devotee or anything else ending in ee.”

She was going to show them what knowledge she could offer if they chose to allow her in their ranks.

Would they allow Avry to bump up the latter without putting in the time? If they did would she be able to avoid Estrid and her daughter-in-law, Jael? Let’s not forget that Avry and Jael have some bad blood between them from book one.

Will Kerrick manage to talk his way out of death by zombie ufas or will he have to fight his way to freedom? Will he be able to make it to Prince Ryne to add aid for the fight ahead?

Once the plot starts to thicken you will have a hard time putting it down. The dead will rise and more lives will be lost before the book ends. While I did enjoy this book, I have to say that I still wanted more from Ms. Snyder. I didn’t want to spend part of the book comparing one series with another. I hope that all of this plot building and twists and turns will pay off in the next book.

Recommendation : If you enjoyed Touch of Power than you should give this one a try. You just might enjoy Avry and Kerrick’s next leg of their journey.
Rated : 

I would also like to thank Harlequin via NetGalley for providing me with an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. I can’t wait to see what happens next in this series.

2 thoughts on “ARC Review : Scent of Magic by Maria V. Snyder

  1. So glad you liked this, Amanda. I did too, but I had some issues with it. I agree with you though. I miss Yelena and Valek.

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

