Book Slayer Monday! – Angelfall by Susan Ee

4

December 2, 2012 by thebookslayer

Book Slayer Monday!

Whoo! It’s the first Monday in December!

How are you coming along with your Holiday shopping? I know. So little time to do so much. Well, in light of the year coming to a close I thought that I would spend the next 5 Mondays featuring my top 5 favorite books I read this year.

The first book on my list is…

Angelfall by Susan Ee

11500217

It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

I loved this book. I mean I-have-read-it-more-than-once loved it. When I first read this book it was still fairly unheard of. I had only heard a few people mention it. It happened to be $0.99 on amazon so I thought, why not give it a try?! I am here to say that it was one of the best purchases I made this year. This book blew every expectation I had away. The plot wasn’t the same-old-same-old. I hit about every emotion imaginable with this book.

I can’t tell you how happy I was to learn that Ms. Ee was going to write a second book because that ending had me bawling. Then I learned it wasn’t going to come out till next summer and I bawled again. Apparently, I am quite emotional when it comes to books. 😉

I am not the only one who has fallen in love with this book. When I mentioned I would feature Angelfall, Laura from Little Read Riding Hood jumped on the band wagon. So for the first time, in Book Slayer Monday history, we have a collaboration of questions from two bookaholics.

Are you ready to see how well you stand up to our test?
Good! Let’s put you through the paces.

How did you do? Does this not make you want to read this book all over again?!

Laura and I were having that exact problem. I must admit that when I put these quizzes together I tend to take twice as long because I start reading the book instead of focusing on the quiz. We were having the same problem. It was so fun coming up with questions for this one because Laura and I spent about half the time just talking about Raffe in all his heavenly glory! Can’t you just imagine that hotel scene with his “towel hanging loosely off his hips”. I better stop before I start drooling again. Back to the entire book and not just Raffe.

Laura pointed out that Angelfall is going to be made into a movie! Can you believe it! I am so excited. For those of you who want more details visit this link. With an overload of young adult books becoming movies (Twilight, Mortal Instruments, Beautiful Creatures) these past years and into the next year I can only hope that they make this one as well.

Before I finish, I want to thank Laura for spending a few hours coming up with questions and reminiscing about Angelfall with me. It was fun and we must do it again. Thank you so much for all your help.

Now it’s your turn. Laura came up with a bonus question. I thought it was too good not to use, so here is your turn to answer.

In Penryn’s nightmare (Raffe first holds her – swoon), when her mother is trying to run her over, what is her mother telling her to do?

4 thoughts on “Book Slayer Monday! – Angelfall by Susan Ee

  1. littleread1 says:

    Oh my gosh, it was so much fun! 🙂 Anytime you want to fan-girl over Angelfall, let me know!

  2. […] mentioned last week that every Monday in December will be a book from my top 5 favorites this year. Angelfall was featured last week. If you haven’t tried your hand at that quiz I suggest giving it a […]

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

