ARC Review : The Prince by Tiffany Reisz

2

November 20, 2012 by thebookslayer

The Prince by Tiffany Reisz

Release Date : November 20th

Keep your friends close and your enemies closer…preferably in bed. That’s always been Kingsley Edge’s strategy with his associate, the notorious New York dominatrix Nora Sutherlin. But with Nora away in Kentucky, now it’s Kingsley’s chance to take her place at the feet of the only man he’s ever wanted — Søren, Nora’s on-again, off-again lover — until a new threat from an old enemy forces him to confront his past.

Wes Railey is still the object of Nora’s tamest yet most maddening fantasies, and the one man she can’t forget. He’s young. He’s wonderful. He’s also thoroughbred royalty and she’s in “his” world now. But Nora is no simpering Southern belle, and her dream of fitting into Wesley’s world is perpetually at odds with her dear Søren’s relentlessly seductive pull.

Two worlds of wealth and passion call to her and whichever one Nora chooses, it will be the hardest decision she will ever have to make… unless someone makes it for her…

“No,” said the little prince. “I am looking for friends. What does that mean–’tame’?” “It is an act too often neglected,” said the fox. It means to establish ties.” -Le Petit Prince

The third book in The Original Sinners series, The Prince, is about The Prince of Kentucky and Le Petit Prince or The Little Prince. We watch these two separate tales twist and turn dancing around each other only touching due to one woman, Nora. That’s right. Kingsley & Søren are one tale and Nora with Wes is the other one. Let me tell you this story is not for the weak-minded. No, sir. We get bounced back and forth from past, present, and hints of the future.

Kingsley & Søren

Someone is threatening Søren, yet again. He receives a photo of Kingsley & him from their time at school together. This photo could only come from one place and they quickly pack up and take a trip to visit their old school. We get a peek into the beginning of their relationship. I absolutely loved learning more about Kingsley and what makes him tick.

Kingsley is from France. His parents died when he was young and he has very fond memories of them. His mother used to read Le Petit Prince and dubbed him with the nickname little prince. His parents marriage was a love match and not liked by either side of the family, but Kingsley and his sister had a happy life until the accident. This sent both siblings spiraling out of control. Kingsley slept with every girl he could get under him and his sister threw herself into dance. When Kingsley made an enemy of a girl’s brother he was sent to Saint Ignatius where he met Søren.

We get to see Søren through Kingsley’s eyes.

At the piano sat a young man…lean, angular, with pale blond hair cut in a style far more conservative than Kingsley’s own should-length mane.

Kingsley watched as the blond pianist’s hands danced across the keys, evoking the most magnificent sounds he’d ever heard.

Part of Kingsely wanted to close his eyes and let the music wash over him.

But another part of him couldn’t bring himself to look away from the young man at the piano …

From that day on Kingsley was in Søren’s thrall. He wanted to be close to him, to get to know him. Little did the little prince know what was in store for him or how he would be changed forever when he got to know this young man. Yes, we get to see Søren tame Kingsley.

“Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away,” Le Petit Prince by Antione Saint Exupery

We also get to meet Kingsley’s sister or I should say the memory of her. I think out of all the characters in this series so far that we have met, she wins the most broken award. I really think it all happened with her parents death and her grandparents not being able to reach out to either of the siblings.

Back in the present Søren cannot seem to catch a break. Things escalate from bad to worse when his childhood home is broken into and his bed set on fire. That’s right, if that message wasn’t clear enough the words Love Thy Sister were written above the bed. Creepy!

Meanwhile,

Nora & Wes

Nora is in Kentucky with Wes, The Prince of Kentucky. Now, I have mixed feeling on this. Okay, I really don’t. I love ya, Wes, but Nora is not for you. Sorry, that’s my opinion and I am sticking to it.

“You are not at all like my rose,” he said. “As yet you are nothing. No one has tamed you, and you have tamed no one. You are like my fox when I first knew him. He was only a fox like a hundred thousand other foxes. But I have made him my friend, and now he is unique in all the world.”

And the roses were very much embarassed.

“You are beautiful, but you are empty,” he went on. “One could not die for you. To be sure, an ordinary passerby would think that my rose looked just like you—the rose that belongs to me. But in herself alone she is more important than all the hundreds of you other roses: because it is she that I have watered; because it is she that I have put under the glass globe; because it is she that I have sheltered behind the screen; because it is for her that I have killed the caterpillars (except the two or three that we saved to become butterflies); because it is she that I have listened to, when she grumbled, or boasted, or even sometimes when she said nothing. Because she is my rose. -Le Petit Prince

This is exactly why I believe Nora will always be Søren’s. Wes, I think, is starting to see that Nora is more than he can handle, but the boy just won’t let go.

For a single second Wesley felt a pang of sympathy for Søren. Nora was lawless, unmanageable, uncontrollable. You told her one thing, she did everything but that. She laughed when others cried. Danced when others sat. She clawed her way to the top and didn’t even chip a nail on the way up. No one could break her. No one could handle her. No one could shut her up.

Wes brought her to his home, mansion, or castle, if you will, in Kentucky for some one-on-one time. Meeting the parents was awful. Nora, however, held her own and I am amazed at how well Wes’ father stood up to her. Although, I have my suspicions that he might have a M/s relationship with his wife, Wes’ mother. But really, that isn’t the highlight of anything going on, just a side note from me.

Anyway, Wes introduces her into the world of thoroughbreds and horse races. It is exciting and madness all at once. As you can imagine, Nora has her eye on another riding crop to add to her collection.

Nora also runs into a long time friend but there is more than what meets the eye to this man. Events are spiraling out of control in their piece of paradise and Nora has to put on her big girl boots with a crop in hand and take charge. As always, she never disappoints.

These two tales will grab you by the heart and squeeze. Nothing is as it seems and no one is safe.

“You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed.” – The fox from Le Petit Prince

Overall, this mind fuck was brilliant, passionate and damn neared killed me. Holy Hell Ms. Reisz, no more playing in the kiddy pool for you. You went straight to the deep end and weighed us down so we couldn’t surface.

Cruel and Sadistic. I loved it. I hated it. I hated that I loved every minute of it.

That ending. THAT ENDING! ‘This shit just got real’ is the phrase that comes to mind. I can’t wait to see how everything plays out in the next book.

Recommendation : This book will take you deep into the world of the Original Sinners and leave you feeling emotionally drained. It is a must read for all who have loved the first two books.
Rated : 

I want to give a special thank you to Harlequin via NetGalley for providing me with a copy of this book for an honest review. I was chomping at the bit to get this one the minute I was done reading The Angel. I had The Prince one read in a day once I got a hold of it. Thank you for making me smile before I was mind fucked. 

2 thoughts on “ARC Review : The Prince by Tiffany Reisz

  1. braine talk.supe says:

    THE ENDING!!! What the hell was that? They all got a rude awakening in this book. Reisz keeps on hinting at something epic in The Mistress and I’m both scared and excited!

  2. Misha says:

    Is there any word on when ‘The Mistress’ will be released?

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

