Book Slayer Monday! – Seraphina

2

November 12, 2012 by thebookslayer

It is that time again! Yet another Monday bites the dust!

I know that I am late with my post today. If you follow my boards on pinterest you probably noticed that my feed was blown up with sensory and speech therapy ideas. I have been working hard on creating activities for all my children but especially, my middle child who is autistic. Therefore, I wasn’t able to get to any reading yesterday or much the day before. Computer time was strictly children research. lol I am sure many of you balance time as well and as you know running a blog with kids is a workout in many ways.

Back to books, I have decided to feature a book that I have recently read. I found that this book was a one of a kind, thought provoking and an in depth reading. If you are looking for a fluff-book this is not for you, but it is worth the time you put into it. You will see the world a little bit differently. It leads you to wonder, What if my life were like that?.

Don’t worry though, its not a philosophy book or a textbook. It really is just a story about a girl who knows she is vastly different from everyone else. A girl who questions why the world believes what it does. A girl who when given lemons makes lemon meringue pie.;) She is also a girl who knows who she is and cares about others deeply. She is able to bridge ethnic, social and moral gaps just by being who and what she is.

This book will take you on a journey to a land where Dragons and Humans have lived side by side in peace for 40 years, but have never truly accepted each other. Seraphina just might be up for the challenge.

The book I am featuring today is…

Seraphina by Rachel Hartman

Seraphina (Seraphina, #1)Four decades of peace have done little to ease the mistrust between humans and dragons in the kingdom of Goredd. Folding themselves into human shape, dragons attend court as ambassadors, and lend their rational, mathematical minds to universities as scholars and teachers. As the treaty’s anniversary draws near, however, tensions are high.

Seraphina Dombegh has reason to fear both sides. An unusually gifted musician, she joins the court just as a member of the royal family is murdered—in suspiciously draconian fashion. Seraphina is drawn into the investigation, partnering with the captain of the Queen’s Guard, the dangerously perceptive Prince Lucian Kiggs. While they begin to uncover hints of a sinister plot to destroy the peace, Seraphina struggles to protect her own secret, the secret behind her musical gift, one so terrible that its discovery could mean her very life.

For those of you who have read this book, are you read to see how much you remember?
Good!

How did you do? I know this one was a little harder than some of my other ones, but really this book isn’t for the faint of heart. Therefore, I thought you would appreciate me giving you a bit of a run for your money. 🙂

Hope you enjoyed this weeks book and quiz. Feel free to share your favorite part of the book. My favorite was always the music. Music is like breathing to me and so I appreciated how much Ms. Hartman brought that into Seraphina’s character.

Thanks for stopping by. Have a great Monday!

2 thoughts on “Book Slayer Monday! – Seraphina

  1. I totally failed the quiz but I adored this book 🙂 I loved the music and slow romance

  2. 90%! Not too shabby considering I read this months back. Also, you included my favorite quote:

    ” “I’m attracting small children,” _____?_____ muttered, twisting his hat in his hands. “Shoo it away, will you?””

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

