Top Ten Tuesday! – Kick-ass Heroines

7

October 29, 2012 by thebookslayer

 

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

I am very exited to be able to dedicate a list to Kick-ass Heroines. I have to say that some of my favorite books have Heroines that don’t take shit from people and can kick some serious ass. When paired with an Alpha male who takes charge and gives the Heroine a run for her money, magic happens. These, my fellow readers & bloggers, are reread material.

Do you have some of your favorite characters and books in mind? Well I know that I do and I can’t wait any longer to share them with you.

Top Ten Kick-ass Heroines

1. Kate Daniels in the Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews

Kate Daniels is my number one Kick-ass Heroine. She has been trained since birth to cut through armies and take down one badass motherfucker. These books will not disappoint when it comes to being action packed with a side of budding romance. Okay, so the romance takes a book or two to get into but don’t worry it is there as well.

2. Allie Beckstrom in the Allie Beckstrom series by Devon Monk

Allie Beckstrom rates a number two spot for Kick-ass Heroines. She not only can work magic but magic is stored into her body thanks to her father’s experiments. Let’s just say they don’t have a good or even great relationship. The best part about this series is watching Allie and Zayvion work magic together. There magic and use of it compliments each other and wow does the story bloom when this happens.

3. Chess Putnam in the Downside Ghost series by Stacia Kane

Chessie is one Kick-ass Heroine! She is a church witch who basically goes around debunking hauntings. The scary part is that if it does turn up to be real she must get rid of the ghosts/spirits and send them to the spirit city. This series is one of my favorites and I would say when in doubt give it a try. You might be surprised with how much you enjoy it.

4. Charley Davidson in the Charley Davidson series by Darynda Jones

Charley Davidson automatically qualifies as a Kick-ass Heroine due to the fact she is also the only Grim Reaper. Oh yeah, you heard right. She has the joy of sending people on to the next life. She also has the joy of being haunted and having many upset ghosts. This job is not a walk in the park and Charley is constantly getting hurt.

5. Yukiko in The Lotus War series by Jay Kristoff

Yukiko serves in the imperial army. She sets out to take on an impossible mission with her father and other members of the team. This book is not for the faint of heart. Storms rage and tempers flare. Yukiko earns her place in the Kick-ass Heroine list through the many trials she has to face in this first book alone.

6. Xhex in the Black Dagger Brotherhood series(book 8) by J.R. Ward

Xhex has been in the series throughout as a bouncer for Rhev’s club. She is can kick some serious ass and has throughout the books. This book, however, is the one that centers on her and John Matthew. I loved both of these characters which made this book easy to enjoy.

7. Gin Blanco in the Elemental Assassins series by Jennifer Estep

Gin Blanco has earned her spot in the Kick-ass Heroine list due to her assassin background. That’s right, Gin is or should I say was a paid assassin. She has killed many and now in her retirement seems to be doing this pro bono. If you haven’t read this series, it is excellent.

8. Merit in the Chicagoland Vampires series by Chloe Neill

Merit a once shy, college student becomes the Sentinel of her House. This all happens due to an accidental vampire attack one night on her way home from class. Merit trades in her school books and dancing for a katana and kicking ass. Excellent Vampire series so far.

9. Yelena in the Study series by Maria V. Snyder

We get to see Yelena grow and hone her skills as an assassin throughout the series. Thanks to Valek, Yelena learns how to be the best assassin in the land. This series is really all about how she goes in and out of territories trying to bring peace when others are trying to wreck havoc.

10. Cat Crawfield in the series Night Huntress by Jeaniene Frost

Cat is half vampire and her lover, Bones, teaches her to be the best vampire killer around. Okay, maybe not the best, but she is up there and can take them by surprise. This series is a must for all you PNR lovers.

Did I mention any of your favorites? Do you have any to add? If so feel free to share.

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! – Kick-ass Heroines

  1. Neyra says:

    You are determined to never see my Mount-Everest-TBR-pile go down aren’t you? *sobs hysterically* xD I love all your choices, they all sound bad ass, so I’m definitely keeping an eye out for these, I have the Downside Ghosts’ first 3/4 books I think so now I just need to bump them up some more ^_^ & I loved yukiko too. And idk if you’ve read Angelfall by Susan Ee, but Penryn is one kick ass YA heroine! πŸ˜‰

    • Yes, Angelfall almost made this list as well. I think I have a couple hundred books with kick-ass heroines. It is always hard to pick just ten. Thanks though for mentioning Penryn.

  2. Nods head in agreement with Xhex , Chessie and Merit . I still need to read the other books in those series..

  3. You know what? I love this list. I haven’t read any of them but Stormdancer, but I promised I would try to read more UF next year and most of these series are at the top of my list. It gives me something to reference when I make my picks. So I am bookmarking this and I will come back to it when I am ready to get started. Great list, Amanda!

  4. Liesel Hill says:

    I totally need to read Magic Bites! That’s proving to be a popular pick which makes me want to read it more! Stormdancer is on my TBR list too. Great picks! πŸ˜€ My TTTs are at Musings on Fantasia and LKHill. Happy Tuesday! πŸ˜€

  5. I love how many badass women are on those covers. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click hereΒ to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

