My Friday Follows : Feature & Follow and 18 & Over Blogger Follow

10

October 25, 2012 by thebookslayer

Feature & Follow #10

Feature and Follow Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read where they each feature a fellow blogger, and ask a question, to be answered by anyone who wants to participate. We then hop around to other blogs, checking out their answers. It is a great way to get to know other bloggers.

Question for this week is…

Q : What writing device or trick most irritates you when reading a book? For example, if an author employs an omnipotent narrator that is sometimes considered bad form.

My number one offender when it comes to books is what I call the “Whiplash scenario.”

image

I think you can imagine what I am talking about. Those books that change characters with every chapter and I mean practically every chapter. You know it’s bad when the author has to put the character’s name at the chapter heading just so you know who is talking.

Unfortunately, I have found that young adult books tend to be the biggest offender in this area. Don’t ask me why, but it just seems to me that for some reason the authors feel we can’t follow what is happening and need to spell it out.

If you have read any of my reviews of books that got 2 stars or under I can tell you that it probably has the whiplash scenario in my review. This is just something I find it hard to forgive, I don’t want to be bounced from character to character with the speed of light. Seriously, it is not fun and leaves my head reeling.

I have a few more, but I think I have said enough. If you want to know what else I find offensive you can check out my review on Defiance by C.J. Redwine. I think that one covered quite a few things I don’t like.

What about you? Do you like changing characters every chapter?

Thanks for stopping by. If you follow me let me know so I can return the favor! Happy Friday!

18 & Over Blogger Follow #52

Hosted by Crystal @ Reading Between the Wines Every Friday hop along with your favorite 18 & over book bloggers! Just for the big-girl bloggers who love romance, erotica , man candy and everything naughty. Join the fun and find fabulous new book blogs to follow!

Question of the week is ….

Q: What book or series would you recommend for a good Halloween read?

This one is tough. I have a few that I love and would recommend. So I think I will just list them. I love them all and suggest if you haven’t read them to give them a try.

1. Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

If you have not read these books you must. I love them all and they get better and better every time I read them. If you have read them and love them I featured these books in two parts for my Book Slayer Monday posts. You get to take a little quiz to see how well you remember them. Part 1    Part 2

2. Charley Davidson series by Darynda Jones

Charley Davidson: part-time private investigator and full-time Grim Reaper Charley sees dead people. That’s right, she sees dead people. And it’s her job to convince them to “go into the light.” But when these very dead people have died under less than ideal circumstances (i.e. murder), sometimes they want Charley to bring the bad guys to justice. Complicating matters are the intensely hot dreams she’s been having about an Entity who has been following her all her life…and it turns out he might not be dead after all. In fact, he might be something else entirely.

I love all of these books and book 4 comes out very soon so now is the time to read them. I also featured this on a recent Book Slayer Monday post as well. Click here for quiz

3. Graveyard Queen by Amanda Stevens

My name is Amelia Gray. I’m a cemetery restorer who sees ghosts. In order to protect myself from the parasitic nature of the dead, I’ve always held fast to the rules passed down from my father. But now a haunted police detective has entered my world and everything is changing, including the rules that have always kept me safe.

This series has creepy written all over it. I think this one is perfect for those dark cold nights where you snuggle into your bed and read late. I also featured this one on a Book Slayer Monday as well. You can click here to take the quiz.

I could not just give one answer and, honestly, I have many more books I would love to recommend but these are my top 3 choices for Halloween. Happy Reading! 

10 thoughts on “My Friday Follows : Feature & Follow and 18 & Over Blogger Follow

  1. Liesel Hill says:

    I actually don’t mind changing POVs with epic casts of characters, but I think it has to be done well. I’ve totally experienced the whiplash thing before when it wasn’t. 😀 Great answer! My FFs are at Musings on Fantasia and LKHill. Happy Friday! 😀

  2. Hopping through. I don’t necessary mind switching characters. I hate it when they switch points of view without telling you first.
    My Hop

  3. braine talk.supe says:

    I personally don’t mnd the Whiplash scenario as you put it as long as its executed properly. It gives an added layer to the story and sometimes its nice to know what’s going on in the other person’s head.

    P.S. you really hate Defiance…

  4. Oh, I agree with your point about whiplash – just when I settle down with a character they are ripped away! That’s no good, but I do put up with it if I love the book or the series – Game of Thrones, anyone?. I don’t care for cliffhangers, but mostly I hate anything that happens due to coincidence. I like logical steps to a conclusion.

    New follow via Linky.

    Julie~ New Adult Addiction

  5. Rinn says:

    I find the changing POVs work if the chapters are a decent length. If they’re not, it can get irritating.
    New follower on Goodreads and Twitter =)
    Rinn (My FF)

  6. Whiplash! lol. I hate that too. It gets so confusing and irritating. 😦

    J’adore Happy Endings

  7. Jessica@a GREAT read says:

    Excellent point! That can be annoying and confusing!

    Here’s my Follow Friday

    Have a GREAT weekend!

    Old Follower 🙂

  8. Alyssa says:

    I love it when it changes every chapter. I like to get into as many character’s heads as possible!

    http://mydailyobsessionreview.blogspot.com/2012/10/feature-and-follow-3.html

  9. I don’t mind the switching points of view if it’s only between two characters. Otherwise, it’s kind of annoying. I completely agree with the Harry Potter recommendation, but I haven’t read the other books.

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

