ARC Review : Boyfriend from Hell by Jamie Quaid

6

October 11, 2012 by thebookslayer

Boyfriend from Hell by Jamie Quaid

Release Date : September 25th, 2012

They say justice is blind. But Justine isn’t.

Justine (Tina) Clancy is just an ordinary law student with a faulty arrest record, a part-time job in Baltimore’s radioactive Zone, and a family secret so bizarre even she doesn’t believe it. That is, until in a fit of fury she damns her boyfriend to hell—and it’s exactly where he ends up.

Much to her own surprise, Tina is apparently one of Saturn’s daughters, with the power to wield vigilante justice. But poor Max didn’t deserve to go up in flames, even if he did almost run her over with her own car. Tina’s convinced someone cut the brakes—and now a relentless nemesis is stalking her through the Zone’s back alleys, where buildings glow, statues move, and chemical waste exposure comes with interesting consequences. Tina’s usually a loner, but now she needs a posse like no other: a shape-shifting kitten, an invisible thief, a biker gang, a snake-charming private detective, a well-meaning cop, and her sleazy, sexy boss. But in between freeing Max from hell, saving her own neck, and solving a mystery that threatens the Zone and her newfound friends, how is she ever going to study for finals?

This cover screams Kickass Heroine, so I quickly snatched up an ARC. There really is nothing like a great Kickass Heroine especially if there is a Hunky Hero to go with her.

Sadly, I am here to report that my expectations were shattered. I really wanted this one to succeed for me, but it just did not.

I can sum this book up with one phrase:
A Series of Unfortunate Events!

Replace “movie” with “review” and there you have it. You have been warned.

It’s true. This book was one unfortunate catastrophe after another. This, my fellow readers, was not in any way, shape or form a good thing. I found this book painful to read and to be quite honest it left me wondering why an author, with previous published books, could put out an ARC that is purely an outline.

Transitions? Nope, it did not have any!

Plot? Not original.

I believe that comic books have this story’s plot bought and paid for. Justine works in an area that is known for a chemical spill and people seem to become “other” or “more.” Does this not sound familiar to you too? They get “superpowers,” if you will. Yeah I thought that sounded way too similar to some comic books.

Count Olaf: I must say, you are a gloomy looking bunch.Why so glum?Klaus Baudelaire: …Our parents just died.Count Olaf: Ah yes, of course. How very, very awful. Wait! Let me do that one more time. Give me the line again! Quickly, while it’s fresh in my mind!Klaus Baudelaire: Our parents just died?Count Olaf: [gasps dramatically]

Kickass Heroine? Umm.

She really was not kickass till the end and that was due to gaining superpowers. Tina had poor self-esteem. She let her boyfriend, well her ex-boyfriend, walk all over her. She was the one with a job supporting both of them. It was her apartment that they lived at. Her car that he used and ultimately destroyed while dying himself. I know I should not hold that against him, but I am. You know what let me just let the quote say it all.

In a few short weeks I’d gone from passive, mousy student …

Hunky Bad Boy? Yup she got this one right, but lack of relationship building sunk this ship like the titanic.

Seriously, would it have been that hard to put in a sex scene or an illusion of one? Or some serious sex appeal between these two? Apparently, the answer is yes.

I have to point out here that the Bad Boy and the Ex-Boyfriend are two different people. Hunky Bad Boy – Andre – is Justine’s boss and  I actually really loved his character. I just wanted more to take place between him and Tina. He kept saving her life and protecting her and she just blew him off every time. I tell you, it was just too much.

Now Ex-Boyfriend – Max – was a jerk. He lies to her about his family and she was practically supporting him while he sat on his butt doing nothing. Well, we find out it was not nothing and that the man has left her with a shitload of grade A crap.

My boyfriend was trying to kill me!

The man kept popping up in every mirror that Tina used. This oddly enough reminded me of ‘Ella Enchanted’ with the man in the book.

I really did not like Max and his reappearance at the end did not go over well with me. It was a WTF? moment.

Murder Mystery? Well if you mean we are bounced back & forth from who did what, where, and why than yes it does.

However, it is like playing Guess Who when you wanted to play Clue. I just wanted more. I feel like we skimmed the surface without diving into what was actually going on. So much potential.

At this point what can I say?!

This book just did not do it for me. I was entertained with a few parts here and there. I did feel that the overall plot could have really soared but, as mentioned earlier, it just fell flat and fell hard.

Recommendation : Do you really want me to go there? Nope, I did not think so.
Rated : 

Thank you to Edelweiss and Pocket Books for providing me with a copy of this book for an honest review. I did really want to love it, but it was not meant to be.

6 thoughts on “ARC Review : Boyfriend from Hell by Jamie Quaid

  1. nodding my head in agreement with your review. This book was going every which way 😦 I love the gifs with this review 🙂

  2. Liesel Hill says:

    Sorry it was so disappointing for you! That’s always a bummer! Thanks for the review! 😀

  3. Oh poop! i really wanted you to like this >..< *sigh* better luck next time i guess. Great review Amanda ^_^

  4. Bahaha, I loathe this cover, and it looks like the inside matched my expectations, though not yours. I’m sorry you had this experience, but I love the GIFs, even when they don’t make sense. 🙂

  5. braine talk.supe says:

    Funny and entertaining review as always. Is it me or does the.lady on the cover looks like Molehill Cyrus a bit? I haven’t read this but I’d like to keep an open mind.

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

