Top Ten Tuesday! – Halloween Books For Children!

10

October 8, 2012 by thebookslayer

 

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This week is a freebie. I have been working up a post based on Halloween books for kids. For those of you who don’t know, I am a mother of 3 little ones. Halloween is probably the holiday that we have the most fun. I put a countdown calendar up with a treat and activity for everyday, not to mention all the costumes we parade around in.

So as you can imagine we have a decent amount of Halloween books. They even have a special basket to be placed in for easy access.

I thought that I would share our family’s beloved Halloween books.

Top Ten Children’s Halloween Books

 

1. The Night Before Halloween by Natasha Wing

This one reads just like ‘The Night Before Christmas.’ The pictures are fun as well as the story. I will mention another one along the same lines as this book, but this one I think is more fun for younger children. The pictures are brighter and the story is for toddler + ages.

Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Goodreads

2. Room on the Broom by Julia Donaldson, Axel Scheffler

Room on the Broom is all about Rhyming. The witch has to make room for a cat, a dog, a bird, and a frog. Before the end they will encounter something quite unexpected.

Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Goodreads 

3. Spongezilla Attacks! by Erica David, Heather Martinez

Spongezilla Attacks is not only fun because it is has Spongebob and Patrick in it, but the illustrations are done in 3-D. The book includes the cool 3-D glasses to make everything jump off the page. Never fear, even if your little one is too young to use the glasses or you lose them the book can still be read and loved!

Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Goodreads

4. Where Is Baby’s Pumpkin? by Karen Katz

This book has made it through all 3 kids. Although, it has lost a flap or two, Rye still enjoys reading and looking at it. When you open each flap the picture underneath looks glitterized, if that is a word.

Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Goodreads

5. Five Little Pumpkins by Dan Yaccarino, Public Domain

I think this one might be my hubby’s favorite because you can read this book or can decide to put actions with every page. When I first learned about this book I was excited. I had worked in daycare for 3 years and learned the Five Little Pumpkins as a song for little kids. As you can imagine I have yet to find a toddler that does not enjoy moving their hands and clapping while singing. When I saw this book I immediately picked it up and bought it. Now my kids have fun pictures to look at if they don’t want to sing the song with motions.

Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Goodreads

For those of you who do not know the song and hand motions here it is.

6. The Little Old Lady Who Was Not Afraid of Anything by Linda D. Williams, Megan Lloyd

By looking at the cover you can’t tell how much fun this book can be. Let’s just say that if you know anything about ‘Going On A Bear Hunt,’ than you will understand when I say this book is just as fun. The little old lady collects quite a following on her way home through the woods. My kids love this book and giggle throughout.

Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Goodreads

7. Halloween Night by Marjorie Dennis Murray, Brandon Dorman

Remember I mentioned, with book 1, that there was another book that read like ‘The Night Before Christmas,’ well this is it. I think this one is just as clever as the book I mentioned in number one, however, the artwork isn’t as bright and this one has more words. I think that this book suites kids ages 4+ better.

Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Goodreads

8. The Curious Little Witch by Lieve Baeten

Every year I add books to my Halloween collection. This one is quickly becoming another favorite. A curious little witch crashes into an attic of an old home. She makes her way down, down, down to the ground to find someone to help her fix her broken broom.

Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Goodreads

9. The Spooky Wheels on the Bus by J. Elizabeth Mills

This is a must own as well. As you can imagine it is just like ‘The Wheels on the Bus.’ but all about Halloween. It is colorful and bright. Plus, it is just plan fun to read.

Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Goodreads

10. Ten Timid Ghosts by Jennifer O’Connell

If you are looking for a Halloween book that encourages counting than this is your book. My daughter & son love counting all the ghosts on each page. Plus, we get to watch 10 ghosts kick a witch out of their home. It really is cute.

Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Goodreads

I have so many more Halloween books that my family loves to sit down and read and I am sure will keep growing over the years. If you want a list of more Halloween books that are tried and true send me an email (Contact Me page) and I will gladly give you a list of books that we have and love.

Thanks for stopping by. I hope you have found some new books that will bring a smile to you and your little ones this Halloween.

Happy Halloween!

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! – Halloween Books For Children!

  1. Braine TS says:

    Your kids are beautiful!

  2. Lucy says:

    What a fun group of books! Great pics of your kids enjoying the books too. The Curious Little Witch looks adorable and so does The Night Before Halloween. Thanks for sharing!

  3. You guys look like you have an awesome time around Halloween. Thanks for sharing the books your kids love 🙂

  4. The Curious Little Witch sounds like a fab read! I love Halloween reads & these one sounds perfect for little kids.

    J’adore Happy Endings

  5. Liesel Hill says:

    Fun list! I don’t think I even know 10 Halloween books for kids! 😀 Go you!

  6. I don’t have kids yet and we don’t really celebrate Halloween here, unfortunately (Netherlands), but these look like fun and I’m going to write them down! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    TTT @thedailyprophecy.

  7. Carissa says:

    I LOVE the 5 little pumpkins poem/book/song! Students love it, teacher’s love it…pretty much I don’t know anyone who doesn’t love it! I even adapted it for my little EFL students to practice their family words (brother,sister, baby, etc.) http://eslcarissa.blogspot.mx/2012/10/5-little-pumpkins-family-version.html

  8. Lucretia says:

    It’s nearly impossible to find knowledgeable people on this topic,
    but you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

  9. Katherina says:

    Hello to every , for the reason that I am genuinely eager of reading this webpage’s post to be updated on a regular basis.
    It consists of fastidious stuff.

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

