ARC Review : Mate Claimed by Jennifer Ashley

Leave a comment

October 3, 2012 by thebookslayer

Mate Claimed by Jennifer Ashley

Eric Warden knows that half-Shifter wildcat Iona is passing for human, living without a Collar in the human world. He also knows that if she does not acknowledge her Shifter nature and her mating hunger, it could kill her. Iona finds the mysterious and dangerous Eric, a wildcat and leader of his Shiftertown, haunting her dreams, but she vows never to “come out” and take the Collar, fearing backlash against her mother and sister for hiding the fact that she’s Shifter. But Eric is a compelling Shifter male, and Iona’s hunger calls to him.

Hot Damn! Did you see that cover?! Just looking at it makes me want to buy it. Win for the marketing team!

Now moving on to what really is in the 4th book in Ms. Ashley’s Shifters Unbound series.

Eric Warden has badass written all over that sexy body of his. We learned from the last book that Eric found Iona at a bar. He could smell that she was half-shifter and without a collar. Danger doesn’t even begin to cover how much trouble Iona is about to rain down on herself and family.

Now, we could not have the leader of this shiftertown mating with a weakling. Oh no! True to form Ms. Ashley has provided us with a strong female voice in this book as well. Iona is not one to step down even from Eric, who she desperately wants to jump at every meeting. Oh yeah, it happens. *wink,wink*

Big changes are in the works for Eric’s shiftertown as the goverment has decided to move all the shifters in the state into one shiftertown. This has upset both sets of shiftertowns. Eric’s shifters have to share homes in order to give the new wolf shifters a place to live while homes are being built.

Both leaders clash from the get-go and I feared that all hope would be lost on trying to get these shifters to play fair. I have to say that I was and I wasn’t wrong.

Iona’s mating heat continually increases while the shifter changes are taking place and Eric barely holds on to his self-control. Everything in him demands that he take what is his, especially knowing another alpha is close-by.

Eric had seen her first. Iona was his.

There were so many times I thought that he would break and take her fast & hard.

“No Iona. You belong to me.”

“If you want to feast on someone, you feast on me.”

Pinned Image

Well if you insist! But as the steam picked up he always managed to pull away, damn him. He did not want Iona to live with after-mating regrets. I say throw caution to the wind and just do it, but I didn’t write this book so suspense it was.

Watching these two run circles around each other was entertaining even if I thought some of the sexual tension was beginning to choke me. I am a sucker for the chase and man, did Eric chase Iona.

“Run as much as you want, Iona. The pleasure will be mine when I catch you.”

Pinned Image

Yup, that line about did me in. Maybe you don’t want to be chased but I sure as hell do and Iona was thrilled by the challenge as well.

When Eric and Iona finally succumbed to the mating frenzy I thought, well this book was satisfying.

“Mate of my heart,” she whispered. “With the best ass.” She drew her foot up the back of his leg. “Don’t hold back now.”

Alas that was not the end. Ms. Ashley has thrown in Cassidy & Diego’s first-born. I am telling you this part of the book really threw me. I was not prepared for everything that happened.

If you want to know you will just have to go read it for yourself. I will leave with a final quote, you can make of it what you will.

daddy :)

“We give our sister into the hands of the Goddess.” Not the most reassuring of prayers. But Iona thought about Eric’s and Cassidy’s tales of how Shifter women often didn’t survive childbirth.

Recommendation: If you loved the other books in the shifter unbound series you will love this one as well. Eric is one Badass Shiftertown Leader! Iona is ready to challenge him at every turn.
Rated : 

I want to thank Edelweiss and Penguin for providing me with a copy of this book  for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

