Top Ten Tuesday! – Shout Out to the first books I fell in love with!

18

October 2, 2012 by thebookslayer

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Hmm. This week is a throwback to older books we don’t want to be forgotten. Well the sad part is that I really have only been devouring books for the past two years or so. That means that most of my books have not been forgotten, which makes this week much harder. Sigh.

That being said I think I will give a shout out to the . . .

Top Ten Books That I Fell In Love With

1. Mortal Prey by John Sandford

My hubby, who happened to be my boyfriend at the time, suggested that I read this over a vacation we took. I actually read it in two days. It is an intense thriller. Loved it!

2. The Bourne Identity by Robert Ludlum

The Bourne Identity (Jason Bourne, #1)

This was one that I borrowed from my college library for my plane ride home. Yes, I mailed it back to my roommate to have her turn it in for me. I know it was lame, but I didn’t have the money at the moment to buy the book before I left for home.

3. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)

Who would I be if I didn’t share my love of all things Harry Potter?! Sadly, I watched the first movie before I read the book. But I love the books so much that my 4 year old daughter and I are reading the first book together.

4. The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman

The Golden Compass (His Dark Materials, #1)

I actually adored this book and was really sad that the movie wasn’t better and didn’t take off.

5. Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

Twilight (Twilight, #1)

Yes, to my eternal shame this is one of the first books that I read in the paranormal genre and fell in love. I do enjoy it, however, I like to think that my tastes have matured since then. Now I have tons more in the genre that I think outshine this book and series but it will still always be remembered as that book I one time thought it was the world.

6. The Hourglass Door by Lisa Mangum

The Hourglass Door (Hourglass Door, #1)

I love this series to this day! Honestly, it is a great book for all ages. Time Travel, Mystery and True Love all rolled up into one. If you haven’t heard of it you should add it to your TBR list right now!

7. Blue Bloods by Melissa de la Cruz

Blue Bloods (Blue Bloods, #1)

I really loved this series up until the last couple of books. It just seems to be taking forever to get to the end and I have lost interest. Book 7 is still sitting on my nightstand with a book mark halfway through.

8. The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #1)

I have to tell you a small story. I saw book number 4 on display in the lobby of Barnes and Noble and I thought the cover was awesome. So what did I do? I went in search of book 1 and bought it without reading the back. Marketing gets all the credit for this series!

9. Isle Witch by Terry Brooks

Ilse Witch

I have to thank Hubby for this one as well. He has read and loved all the many books before this one and we decided to read this one together. I fell in love with the Shannara series from the first chapter. The world is amazing and the characters have so many adventures with the plot’s many twists and turns. Excellent Fantasy series.

10. Hawksong by Amelia Atwater-Rhodes

Hawksong (The Kiesha'ra, #1)

My sister gave me her copy of this book and I read it in a day. It is not extremely long but is excellent. It is kind of a Romeo and Juliet take but with shifters. He is a snake shifter and she is a hawk shifter. Really it is quite good. I would suggest it for any age. I still read it when I am looking for a quick book.

 Do you remember those first few books that you read and loved? What were they?

 

 

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! – Shout Out to the first books I fell in love with!

  1. Yes to Golden Compass* and Hawksong and HP! Also love the shout out to Blue Bloods. They were vampiric Gossip Girl books. 😉

    *Golden Compass was my undergraduate thesis. Yeaaaa. Fave books for the win, Amanda 🙂

    Great list!!!

  2. I’ve been meaning to read The Bourne Identity – I’ve never seen the movies, but the premise sounds cool enough to read.

  3. Harry Potter! Oh! I only have read the first book. Shame on me! I really want to read the entire series.

    J’adore Happy Endings

  4. Nemo says:

    The thought that someday people might not know who Harry Potter is actually makes me sad. Thanks for not being ashamed of Twilight! AAnd that story about the Lightning Thief – LOL! I watched the movie first and thought it was really good if utterly predictable. I didn’t much like the book, unfortunately.

  5. I’m so glad that a lot of people have Harry Potter on their list as well. The day that nobody will read HP.. I can’t imagine!

    My TTT @thedailyprophecy

  6. Brittany says:

    OH, great list! Harry Potter of course. You know, I just really never get tired of seeing it around !:)

  7. The first ten I fell in love with would all be kid’s books. I’ve been a reader forever. Twilight’s definitely one of the first YA books I fell in love with, though I don’t love it quite so much with more knowledge of YA. Still, I owe Meyer that. HP probably was the one that made me fall in love with books for younger people. I was a bit of an adult book reading snob up to that point, I think.

  8. I love Blue Bloods, Harry and Rick Riordan. I have read Amelia Atwater-Rhodes other books, but not that one.

  9. Liesel Hill says:

    Great list! I’ve never read Terry Brooks but I always mean to. Hopefully I’ll get around to it soon. 😀

  10. Ok this is bad, but I had no idea the Bourne Identity was a book. lol. I added the hourglass door to my tbr! I LOVE the Golden Compass…hardcore. Amelia Atwater Rhodes rekindled my love of reading in middle-school. Here’s Ours

  11. Man I love me some Lucas Davenport 🙂 Great List Amanda.

  12. Lola says:

    You have some great stuff here! Harry Potter! His Dark Materials! Percy Jackson!

  13. Anya says:

    I have His Dark Materials on my list too 😀 I loved that trilogy so hardcore *high fives*

    Here’s mine: http://www.onstarshipsanddragonwings.com/2012/10/02/top-ten-older-books-you-dont-want-people-to-forget-about/

  14. Quinn says:

    Oh my gosh, there are some books on this list I wish I had included in my TTT. I love His Dark Materials. Such a wonderful, thought-provoking series. I thought the movie was pretty decent (I particularly loved the actress who played Lyra) but I hated the ending! I feel like if they had the original ending from the book, the movie would have been more satisfying. Oh well.

    Quinn from Quinn’s Book Nook

  15. Shelver506 says:

    You get major props for admitting your love for Twilight. It’s not my cup of tea at all, but that’s okay!

    My TTT: http://shelversanon.blogspot.com/2012/10/top-10-tuesday-top-ten-older-books-you.html

  16. Twilight definitely was a huge book for me. I’m not at all ashamed of it, I still love it. Although, I do think that my feelings about the series might have been different if it hadn’t been my first paranormal.

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

