Review : Taking a Shot by Jaci Burton

Leave a comment

September 27, 2012 by thebookslayer

Taking a Shot by Jaci Burton

If you want to score, you have to get in the game… 
The last thing Jenna Riley needs is more sports in her life. While her brothers are off being athletic superstars, she’s stuck running the family’s sports bar, whether she likes it or not. Then in walks pro hockey stud Tyler Anderson. As much as Jenna would like to go to the boards with him, she’s vowed to never fall for a jock-even one as hot as Ty.

Ty, intrigued by the beautiful bar owner, becomes a regular. He senses that Jenna wants to do something more with her life. And as he gains her trust, the passion between them grows, as does Ty’s insistence that Jenna should start living for herself. With his encouragement, Jenna starts to believe it, too…

But first, Jenna has to figure out what she wants, what she needs, who she loves, and if she has the passion and pride to take a shot at having it all-including Ty…

I loved most of it and hated some of it. So here this books sits, right in the middle leaning towards a higher rating.

Warning: This review is sarcastic and has many GIFs that will take a while to load. Proceed at your own risk of enjoyment.

Let’s begin!

description

description

description

Number 1

First off, I have to say that all of Jaci Burton’s covers are awesome.
description
Seriously, I just want to hang them on my wall. Okay I really would not do it, but the thought has crossed my mind a time or two.

Number 2

Second, I love hockey! Any contact sport is good with me and hockey is brutal. Love It!
description

description

description

Number 3

Third, I was a huge fan of Jenna. I thought she was a great character in the first two books and was excited to see her get her HEA.

description

Now the parts I hated!

Number 1

First and the most annoying were the transitions. I swear they were god awful.

 
description

 
I mean it went from one moment to the next and the scene left you high and dry. I felt like someone was rushing me through so I couldn’t see all the flaws which just made it that much worse.

Number 2

Second, Jenna is a Badass Bartender but she turned into a wimpy girl when it came to her dreams. It just didn’t seem to mesh with her personality.

 
description
I get she was hurt from the rejection of her first band, but I thought she had it in her to get the fuck over it. Apparently, it took the whole book for her to see the light.

Number 3

Third, I loved Ty but damn man, the estrogen got to you.

 
description
Seriously, this whole be kind and hold her hand thing, sorry that didn’t work for me. Maybe it is because I was hoping to have an Alpha male who got shit done and not Patty Patience waiting for the girl to make all the moves.

Last thoughts

Overall, I did enjoy it. I think the best part of the book was the cover. That was pure awesome. Oh and the hockey scenes made me want to go and watch hockey. It was entertaining but not my favorite in the series so far.
description

 

Recommendation: I would still purchase this book to drool all over that beautiful man on the cover. I did enjoy the book enough to say that if you are looking for a book with a hockey player as a hero than give this one a try!
Rated: 
Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

