Book Slayer Monday! #11 – Grim Reaper thy name is . . .

5

September 23, 2012 by thebookslayer

Are you getting ready for Halloween yet? Making plans? Putting up the outside decorations?

Well, here at my house I have been frantically trying to pin down kids costumes, since they always seem to want to be something that you can’t buy at Walmart. Plus figuring out what we are going to do for decorating the barn. It already has quite a few cobwebs so really I think we might be set. Oh and spiders seem to abound as well, shudders.

Anyway, I thought I would get a jump-start on a series that I absolutely love and recommend to all. This series also happens to be have some spooky death/afterlife vibes with it as well. What more could you ask for, right?!

This week we are in the Urban Fantasy genre with . . .

Charley Davidson series by Darynda Jones

 

First Grave on the Right

Second Grave on the Left 

Third Grave Dead Ahead

Charley Davidson: part-time private investigator and full-time Grim Reaper Charley sees dead people. That’s right, she sees dead people. And it’s her job to convince them to “go into the light.” But when these very dead people have died under less than ideal circumstances (i.e. murder), sometimes they want Charley to bring the bad guys to justice. Complicating matters are the intensely hot dreams she’s been having about an Entity who has been following her all her life…and it turns out he might not be dead after all. In fact, he might be something else entirely.

But you already know that. I think that sums up Charley Davidson pretty well, so why fix something that isn’t broken?! Now onto the fun part.

Are you ready?
Get set.

How did you do? I threw in some questions about the books to make it more enjoyable. I have heard that having just quotes makes it quite hard, so if you found this one more enjoyable let me know. I will try to mix questions with quotes in the future.

Do you have a favorite scene from on of the books? Honestly, there are so many scenes that I adore that it is hard to really pick just one. However, I have to say that the ending of Third Grave Dead Ahead was pure torture. Was it just me or did you think he had died as well? I cried the whole time I was reading it till I got to the part that he was still alive then I just wanted to hit him. I might have yelled asshole out loud as well. lol

Thanks for participating. If you have a series you would like to see featured feel free to mention it in the comments area. Have a great week!

5 thoughts on “Book Slayer Monday! #11 – Grim Reaper thy name is . . .

  1. Liesel Hill says:

    Cool idea. I havent read these but maybe I’ll check them out. I have a whole list of books I want to read to get in the Haloween spirit! 😉

  2. o0sarah0o says:

    Hmm, now I’d like to read these books…… but mostly, I’d like to keep staring at the gentleman who won this weeks On Fire Award!

  3. […] I love all of these books and book 4 comes out very soon so now is the time to read them. I also featured this on a recent Book Slayer Monday post as well. Click here for quiz […]

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

