Review : Tarnished by Karina Cooper

3

September 13, 2012 by thebookslayer

Tarnished by Karina Cooper

My name is Cherry St. Croix. Society would claim that I am a well-heeled miss with an unfortunate familial reputation. They’ve no idea of the truth of it. In my secret world, I hunt down vagrants, thieves . . . and now, a murderer. For a monster stalks London’s streets, leaving a trail of mystery and murder below the fog.

Eager for coin to fuel my infatuations, I must decide where my attentions will turn: to my daylight world, where my scientific mind sets me apart from respectable Society, or to the compelling domain of London below. Each has a man who has claimed my time as his–for good or for ill. Though as the corpses pile, and the treacherous waters of Society gossip churn, I am learning that each also has its dangers. One choice will see me cast from polite company . . . the other might just see me dead.

Tarnished thy name is Steampunk! hahaha. Okay really this book has Steampunk written all over it.

One of the biggest problems I tend to have with the first book in a Steampunk series is that they are long-winded. You know what I am talking about. The author feels the need to explain everything in detail over and over. While, it is helpful if you are not used to the genre, those of us that are find it tediously repetitive nonsense.

Black Cat

To put it another way, I  gave this book to my husband to read, since he enjoys that genre as well, and he had the same problem. Ergo it is not just me. This beginning was painfully long and parts were boring.

However, once I hit the middle of the book I loved it. The story picked up and I got to watch the drama unfold.

Clap clap clap

Awesomeness Checklist

One Kick-Ass Heroine – Cherry is a collector or in my mind a bounty hunter. Silly thing to call them instead of bounty hunter. Collector just sounds so . . . girlie.

One Sexy-Untouchable-Naughty Hero – I loved Micajah. The man is sexy as sin but is fiercely protective of those he cares for. His eyes, sigh, I can’t even imagine.

One Fine Looking Gentleman – Lord Conelius Kerrigan Compton, well I wasn’t a huge fan. I think he is an okay man, but not for Cherry. Plus I bet his brother is the other bounty hunter. There I said it! That is my prediction.

Our Naughty Hero saves Our Kick-Ass Heroine – Yup, I think this showed Micajah’s true personality. He really is a cuddly teddy bear underneath the hard-edged task master persona.

Love Triangle – There is a little bit of back and forth with Cherry and Micajah and Cornelius. However, as stated above I am all for team Micajah.

Throw in some Plot Twists and Turns & An Unexpected Ending – This one gets me every time. I love to be surprised. I have to say that I felt this book gave me enough of a run for my money that it was worth reading the boring, ahem long-winded beginning.

Extras that I loved were :
  • The Menagerie – I loved the feel of the Circus Freaks(this is what they were called in the book) coming and going. I thought it brought back part of the old world feel to London and made them seem normal and kind compared to Polite Society.
  • The Nutty Professor – If you have read this book you will understand who I am talking about. I did not see any of that coming. Seriously, how terrible. I shed a few tears for Cherry during the ending.
  • Real Word Vices – I did enjoy that she wasn’t the average heroine and that she had some vices, but I also felt the vices were a little wishy-washy. ex. Chessie from Downside Ghosts is a great example of a true addict. Cherry had a somewhat hard life, but her addiction seems like the whole poor-little-rich-kid drug problem. If that makes sense.

milk

Truly, this book had some unique qualities about it that saved it in the end. 

Recommendation : If you enjoy Steampunk with a bounty hunter for a heroine give this one a try. Just promise me you will at least struggle through the beginning. The ending it worth all the pain. I promise.
Rated : 
3 thoughts on “Review : Tarnished by Karina Cooper

  1. Braine TS says:

    Dibs on Cage and I have back stage passes for the Menagerie.

  2. Neyra says:

    lol @ cuddly teddy bear xD this one looks interesting, i think i have it somewhere in my tbr list o.O lol sucks that the beginning was slow, but I’ll def give this one a try if only for the naughty hero 😉 lol

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

