Top Ten Tuesday! – Confessions

9

August 28, 2012 by thebookslayer

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This week is all about our bookish confessions.  I can’t wait to see what kind of dirt everyone starts digging up with this one.

Top Ten Bookish Confessions

1. I am a bookaholic!

I know this one isn’t new since I have done a whole post on it, but it is true. I hoard books. I love them. Now I have read 167 books this year so it’s not like I don’t go through them, I just can’t help myself. I buy books.

Are you a bookaholic?

2. Self-proclaimed book bender

Image

I bend books as I read them. You know what I am talking about. I mark pages by folding the edge. I bend the left side back when I read the right side of the page.

My favorite ones have highlights of my favorite quotes in them.

Books should be read, shared, loved.

3. I perform the Drop off and Drive maneuver

I have been known to drop off books that I have bought and hated at the library in the outside drop off box and drive away. Lol.

Just because I don’t like it doesn’t mean others won’t. Plus I just don’t want to deal with it. They can sell it or re-shelve it.

4. Named by Nook after a Limp Bizkit song.

My Nook is named Nookie. It’s true.

5. I enjoy reading the author bios at the end of the book.

I actually did a blog post where I put the top ten bios I have run across.

Some of these authors are down right hilarious. Some are sweet and some are as quirky as they are.

Love it.

My little quirk

6. I have a weakness for Eye Candy

Baseball players...holy yum.

I have a whole pinterest shelf devoted to hot men. However, it is under the name goodreads peeps. I must say that a decent amount of goodreads people who I know also have man candy.

Plus, I love to have a hot picture to go with my reviews or status updates.

Goodreads Peeps

7. Book I have been trying to find. Help!

My college writing class had a book of short stories or essays. I can’t remember which. I remember it had something to do with, if pigs fly. They were all hilarious and silly me, I sold it back after the class instead of keeping it.

Now I want another copy so if this sounds at all familiar please let me know. I know it’s not a lot to go off of, but I have hopes that someday I will find it.

8. I have been dubbed as delinquent for late charges at the library.

It is true. My library stops charging after it reaches $1.00 but you get a delinquent mark on your record. Thank goodness I actually know some people at my library and explained that with all the software changes made it wasn’t allowing me to renew. I am no longer a delinquent but I was for a few days.

9. Nothing is more dull than a college textbook

That statement could not be any more true. You think high school is bad, college is worse. I promise.

10. The motorcycle scene from Backstage Pass

Backstage Pass (Sinners on Tour #1)

If you have read Backstage Pass by Olivia Cunning you know what scene I am talking about. But really aren’t you curious. I surely am.

I want to know if it could really happen or if he would crash the motorcycle? Curious minds want to know. Anyone try that one?

Okay so do you have any bookish confessions? If you have a top ten pass on the link and I will visit. If not feel free to leave a confession. I won’t tell if you don’t.

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! – Confessions

  1. Lucy says:

    #3 is hilarious! Your library is pretty awesome to cap late fees at $1.00. Glad you got your delinquent status removed. And I am way impressed with the 167 books you’ve read this year – wow!
    Thanks for sharing your bookish confessions 🙂

  2. haha love it ^_^ *coughs* you should see my library fine *sigh* it’s bad -____-
    okay… that motorcycle scene is calling my name, I need to pick that book up ASAP
    o.O I bend my books too, but I don’t dog ear them or mark them. I usually use a sticky note to keep track of fav quotes and what not. lol I’m gonna have to try that drop off thing. I’ve gota a few books on my shelf that’s got to go!!

    Ana♥

  3. Laura says:

    Great confessions – I’m glad I’m not the only one with late charges at the library!
    Laura

  4. Adina says:

    8 is so funny. And no 2, your poor books. I want to give them a consoling hug 🙂

  5. Quinn says:

    I like to read the author’s bios, too. And I especially love to read the dedications. Julia Quinn’s books always have interesting, and funny dedications.

  6. Brittany says:

    I could not agree more about textbooks! Textbooks are the worst thing to read in the world. Ever. Thank God my classes were almost all lecture. I tried not to even open the book if I could!!!!

  7. Carole Rae says:

    hahahaha its okay….I may not get high charges or whatever, but it takes me forever to pay my debt…like I have had .15 cents that I’ve owed for 3 months now. XD

    http://www.caroleraesramblings.com/2012/08/top-ten-tuesday-i-confess.html

  8. I’m definitely a bookaholic.

    I am NOT a spine-bender. I hold my paperbacks very carefully in an effort to keep the spine beautiful and uncreased.

    Wow, a dollar is a REALLY low fine cap.

  9. fishgirl182 says:

    i try not to bend my books if possible but it always happens. it does mean that it’s well loved though. i hate it when people break the spine immediately though. shudder. who doesn’t love some eye candy? i love the covers for the play by play series by jaci burton. yum! and i cannot believe your library stops at $1.00 fine. i think mine goes to at least $5.00 or $10.00 even.

    thank you for sharing!

    my top ten tuesday

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

