Review : Hot in Handcuffs : Three Novellas of Erotic Capture by Shayla Black, Sylvia Day & Shiloh Walker

2

August 28, 2012 by thebookslayer

Hot in Handcuffs : Three Novellas of Erotic Capture

by Shayla Black, Sylvia Day & Shiloh Walker

I have to say it. I just do. That cover is Sinful. I mean that man is sexy as hell and the pink handcuffs were a nice touch. Right off the bat I knew that this book was for me.

I have never read anything by Shayla Black or Sylvia Day. But Sylvia Day’s Bared to You is on my TBR List and is just awaiting funds. Sadly, funds always seem to get smaller when school starts for the little ones. Man, why did no one ever tell me children costs so much. Oh yeah, they did I just wasn’t listening. lol

Anyway, so my only knowledge with any of these authors was really what I had heard, which was good things and I had read a few books by Shiloh Walker. Now Ms. Walker I have to say that I really, really tired The Missing and it just wasn’t working. I don’t know it just didn’t seem to click for me, but we aren’t talking about that book are we? However, I read Blade Song and Loved it! Seriously, that book was great.

From the cover and what I knew about the authors I couldn’t wait to dive on in and read about some dominating sexy men with hot times between the sheets.

Arresting Desire by Shayla Black

FBI Agent Jon Bocelli never stopped wanting beautiful professor Lucia DiStefano. She’s interested in taking her first lover, and he intends to be that man. When her past puts her life in danger, Jon risks everything to save her and prove this fling is forever.

Started the book of with a bang! The Hot factor was off the scale. Honestly, all I could think about was, ‘why have I not read any of her other books before?’ Loved it!

I absolutley loved the whole Mafia theme going on with FBI man taking control. Oh yeah it hit all the right buttons.

Lucia wasn’t a push over either which was nice.

While reading this book I kept thinking of The Davinci Code. Lucia has been given clues/ciphers to solve her father’s murder. It is intense and the heat those two produce will also set you on fire.

This story was a great way to start off. It was also the Hottest! The story line defiantly came up second best. I was all about Jon and Lucia and watching their relationship bloom.

Teaser:

“Want to know what I did on my last case?” Jon asked Nicki. He was sure that she didn’t, but he was going to tell her anyway. “I ensured that one of my analysts trained properly to pose undercover as a submissive at a BDSM resort. I watched her get naked. I watched her get spanked by one man . . . and get off at the hands of another- at the same time. I saw her publicly flogged and fondled, then I had to send her to a place where orgies and whippings are common. Your sister’s idea of racy is probably reading Lady Chatterley’s Lover aloud at a book discussion group of her fellow academians. Don’t get me wrong; I’d be a lying motherfucker if I said I didn’t want to be the man to take Lucia’s virginity, but she deserves someone who hasn’t lived too long on the edge. Trust me, I’m doing her a favor.”

“Oh get over yourself.” Nicki rolled her eyes. “So she’s been sheltered. That makes her corruptible, not breakable. . . .”

Rated :  
On Fire by Sylvia Day

When Deputy Marshal Jared Cameron investigates a series of arson attacks in a seaside town, the biggest blast of heat comes from sexy fire inspector Darcy Michaels—until their scorching after-hours affair is compromised by a secret from Darcy’s past.

The middle was the perfect stop for this story. There was still a lot of Heat coming from our Hero and Heroine but not quite as much as the first story. However, the story line was pulling me in and I was honestly torn between wanting to know what happened overall and what happened with Jared and Darcy.

I was trying to guess who it was the whole time, at least the parts that I wasn’t distracted by Jared and Darcy getting all hot and sweaty.

Jim and Chris kept giving me the run around and then she throw in another curve ball. Really I didn’t see it coming until it was too late. Great job!

My biggest problem with this story was that Jared and Darcy seemed to take turns dominating. This left me a little confused with whether or not Jared was supposed to be the dominate one out of the two or Darcy. Really it’s not much of a complaint it just let me a little unsatisfied.

Teaser : 

He didn’t move a muscle for a moment. Then his lips curled on one side in a wickedly carnal smile. His eyes glittered with fierce, hard lust. “You want a sheet-clawing, back-arching, mind-blowing fuck, and I want to pound my cock into you until I’ve come my last drop.”

Darcy sagged into the seat back, her hand lifting to her throat. “Whew.”

Rated : 
The Unwilling by Shiloh Walker

Mica Greer and her former lover, ex-FBI agent Colby Mathis, once shared an intimate past and a powerful psychic gift. Now, they’ve been reunited by a bizarre series of murders—and an electrifying passion that could put them both in jeopardy.

I have to say that this last novella drew me in with the story. I thought that the love/lust between Colby and Mica came second. I mean the story was intense and I was honestly creeped out by the villian.

I did love how Colby and Mica had psychic ablilities that they used to solve the case. I have only read a few other series like that. That being said I thought this one playing more upon the murder-mystery aspect of it.

Don’t get me wrong they have some Hot Steamy scenes and thank goodness Colby is defiantly the dominate one there so no guess work.

However, out of all of the stories, Colby played the nice guy safe card. I think that steamed back from Mica running the first time around and so he didn’t want to scare her off, but there you have it.

These two had a back story that helped cement a few things so that the focus was on solving the murders before he could strike again.

I have to give it to Shiloh, she can sure write an intense plot and fit it into an hundred pages or so.

Teaser :

Mica curled her lip at him. He hated that he still found that so fucking appealing, hated that he wanted to reach up and tumble her down into the sand next to him and strip her naked. So what if doing the dirty in the sand got grit in sensitive places? The ocean was right there if they wanted to clean up after. And his house wasn’t too far away.

It was a strong enough impulse that he could even see himself doing just that, and somehow, he doubted she’d resist him if he gave it a try. Her breathing kicked up as she stared at him. No. She wouldn’t resist. Not at all. 

Rated : 
Overall I thought that this book was full of Hot Sexy Escapades mixed with some intense murder-mysteries.

Recommendation : If you are looking for some quickies with plot twists and turns try this one on for size.

Rated Overall : 

2 thoughts on “Review : Hot in Handcuffs : Three Novellas of Erotic Capture by Shayla Black, Sylvia Day & Shiloh Walker

  1. Great review! The cover for this book is just soo yummy! *sigh* I’ve only read Bared to You by Silvia Day and nothing by Shayla Black. I read the Hunters by Shiloh Walker and they were some of my first erotica and Walker knows how to write a smoking hot sexy scene! I really really can’t wait to read this, but like you, I’m waiting for funds lol

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

