Review : Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

6

August 21, 2012 by thebookslayer

Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

What better way to recap what happened in the book than insert a book trailer. *wink, wink* Makes my job easier.

So I think you get the point. New Girl moves into town, actually next door to really Hot, Sexy Boy her age.

She also finds a new friend in his twin sister. They hang out the rest of summer and Hot Boy’s Douche Switch turns on when school starts.

Him and his sister are part of the Super Secret Hot Bod Club, where only the overly beautiful can sit and eat lunch together.

Girl ends up endearing herself to Hot Boy. Hot Boy saves New Girls life several times.

They end up having a tug-of-war relationship, just for them to sacrifice themselves in order to save each other and all their other friends from the evil around them.

End of Book 1.

I have this impulse that when I read a book I can’t help but relate it to other books or media I have seen or heard. It’s all part of my coding process. I blame it on my psych. teacher making us dissect how we code certain things into our memory. That’s my story and I am sticking too it!

Anyway, so while I was reading this book I saw a lot of similarities between Roswell and Twilight so I have dubbed it Roslight.

In true Amanda form I am going to pick apart the similarities.

Before I go into that I do want to say that I did really, really enjoy this book. I even loved the second one more. So this is not bash Obsidian time, it’s just me pointing out a few things that were so similar I had to point them out.

Similarities
  • New girl,Katy, in a small town. She moved in from Florida to a back country town in the middle of no where. (cough, cough. Bella.)
  • Her mother is a workaholic due to husband/fathers untimely death from cancer. (I am going to have to say that yet again, Bella’s dad is a workaholic. But he is due to being alone most of his adult life since Bella’s mom divorced him when she was young.)
  • Katy is a home body. (like Bella)

  • Daemon is one of the Hot Boys in school that everybody wants. (can we say Edward)

  • Daemon and Dee are twins (well they were triplets until their brother died, but Katy thinks they are twins for a very long time) (Roswell – Max and Isabel Evans. O.O That’s quite similar.
  • Plus Daemon and Max are healers while Dee and Isabel are readers of some sort. Isabel reads minds and Dee reads people emotions.
  • This Moment totally happened with Katy & Daemon:

  • Daemon & Max deal with light/fire.

extraordinarygirl86:“What’s so great about normal?” - Max Evans

  • Katy&Daemon/Bella&Edward take many hikes in the woods.
  • Katy&Daemon/Liz&Max have a swimming scene.

<br />Liz: “So Ive broken like 12 of my Mom’s rules already.”<br />Max: “So I suppose skinny dipping would be against the rules too?”<br />Liz: “Uh-huh. No-na-na-na-no. This is not happening. Ok, you made your point…it’s really not that funny, you can stop now. (Max’s clothes are still coming off) “What…Max..Max.”<br />Max: “Come on in it’s beautiful!”<br />Liz: “No it’s not! It is OBVIOUSLY freezing!”<br />Max: “Come on Liz, this is something we can tell our grand-children about.”<br />Liz: “FINE ok FINE!”<br />Liz: (smiling mumbles) “Grandchildren…what are they gonna be 3 feet tall and green?”      <br />Liz: “But hey…I am not taking my underwear off.”<br />

Liz: “So Ive broken like 12 of my Mom’s rules already.”

Max: “So I suppose skinny dipping would be against the rules too?”

Liz: “Uh-huh. No-na-na-na-no. This is not happening. Ok, you made your point…it’s really not that funny, you can stop now. (Max’s clothes are still coming off) “What…Max..Max.”

Max: “Come on in it’s beautiful!”

Liz: “No it’s not! It is OBVIOUSLY freezing!”

Max: “Come on Liz, this is something we can tell our grand-children about.”

Liz: “FINE ok FINE!”

Liz: (smiling mumbles) “Grandchildren…what are they gonna be 3 feet tall and green?”

Liz: “But hey…I am not taking my underwear off.”

Come on that sounds familiar does it not?

  • Daemon/Edward drive brand new cars. Katy/Bella have a beat up vehicle.
  • Both Heros protect their siblings from those that would want to harm them. (same with Edward and Max.)
  • Daemon/Edward saves Katy/Bella from a vehicle.

  • Daemon&Dee/Edward& siblings/Max&Isabel all sit at a certain table every day at lunch with people who are “like” them. They seem untouchable.

  • We have a bedroom scene between Katy&Daemon/Bella&Edward.

  • Katy/Bella/Liz make the ultimate sacrifice to save those they love at the end, but the Daemon/Edward/Max do the unthinkable and heal them.

 

I think you get the picture of why I have dubbed this series Roslight.

I loved …
  • I loved how much Daemon cares for his sister and family. The poor guy has been handed too much responsibility at such a young age. But he has made the best of it and doesn’t complain. Impressive.
  • I loved Daemons sister, Dee. I thought that she was in many aspects the opposite of Daemon and a true friend to Katy.
  • I loved the idea of aliens of light. Interesting back story as to why and how they are here.
  • I have to do it. Daemon kicked so much ass in this book that he was able to join the ranks of my Badass Hall of Fame!
Not so impressive …
  • Katy happens to be a book blogger. I am sure this is what appeals to quite a few bookahilics but for some reason it just didn’t do much for me. I have to give Ms. Armentrout props for being able to make her character relatable to her targeted audience, which would be teens esp. book-lover teens.
  • Daemon’s hot & cold vibes were starting to annoy me after a while. I reader can only take this back and forth so long before you want to scream at him to just pick a side.

can't have your cake and eat it too

Overall, I was really happy that I picked this book up. As I stated before I enjoyed the second book even more than the first.

Recommendation : If you enjoyed the Twilight books and the TV show Roswell than give this series a try. I think you might be surprised by how much a little alien angst can entertain you.
Rated : 
6 thoughts on “Review : Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. See? I’m worried now. Even more worried than I was before. I know SO MANY of my fellow bloggers love this series. But because of all the things you have pointed out, I think I am going to be irritated and hate it. This author does have a tendency to take ideas from other books and rework them. I’m sure almost every author gets ideas from other books, but this author makes it really obvious. I felt that way about Half-Blood *cough Vampire Academy too. Ah well. I’ll read it at some point. Great review, Amanda.

    • Thanks Kara. I think you might be annoyed by it as well. I say that knowing what you think about Twilight. lol It might be one you skip over. But if you can look past it, the second book is better. So it might be worth a skim.

      Thanks for stopping by. :o)

  2. I am glad you enjoyed this book. Its true there were a lot of similarities or a lot of that typical things you see in YA but it was still a great read. Plus Daemon is hot! I wasn’t sure about it at first because of the whole alien thing, but I loved it!

    I love your review by the way. Its a great way to set it up. I don’t read a lot of reviews but I love how you did this. 🙂

    • Thanks Amber. I did really enjoy it, even with the similarities. I thought the second book was even better than this book. I can’t wait to get my hands on the next one. *wink wink*

      If you read enough of my book reviews you will see I love lists. Yes, all kinds of them. lol

  3. my5monkeys says:

    wow I never noticed that and I can see much they are alike. I prefer Gini Koch adult alien series, and lots of smexy times. I still need to read the 2nd book which I have and I did enjoy Daemon but hate when they are being butt heads. Great review

    • oh I am going to have to check out that series. The only other one that I have really read is Gena Showalter’s Alien Huntress series which I thought was pretty good.

      Yes, I am all about throwing some sex in the mix. I think that is why this book was able to keep me interested. When in doubt throw a Hot Scene in between the Hero and Heroine. lol ;o)

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

