Are You A Book Slayer? # 7 – Downside Ghosts

10

August 20, 2012 by thebookslayer

Do you believe in ghosts?

This week we are going back into the Urban Fantasy genre. The series I choose is one that over the years has picked up speed in the marketing department and become more well-known.

Our Heroine, Chess, isn’t your typical girl. She has a past and her present is always up in the air, but she does kick-butt at banishing ghosts back to Triumph City. Chessie happens to be a Church Witch which ends up getting her in more trouble than you would think.

Our Hero happens to be the local drug lord’s enforcer and he isn’t your typical handsome, charming man. Terrible is one Badass MotherF*er.

Our Heroine and Hero work together over the series trying to fix the ghost problem as well as make sure Bump’s business stays hopping.

This also brings about the inevitable, Chessie and Terrible come to mean more to each other than anyone would have thought.

This series is one of my favorite, however it is not for the faint-hearted. There is a very high chance that you will become addicted to it and may have withdrawal symptoms while waiting for the next book to come out.

That’s right it is the …

Downside Ghosts series by Stacia Kane

 

Now the fun part begins. You get to match the quotes with the right book from the series.

Are you Ready?
Get Set!
Result Time:

100% – You have killed this series with your book slaying ability! May all other Book Slayers bow down before you.

90% – So close to being perfect. You have nearly mastered this series. Keep reading and practicing your slaying ability. Next time you will be ready.

80% – Room for improvement. You are on your way but still need to hone your skills. Remember that practice makes perfect.

70% – You half*ssed it! You need to step up your slaying workout!

60% – This series has kicked your butt! You had some good hits in there but just couldn’t pull it off. 

50% – Mayday! Mayday! You are going down fast! Your techniques are slow and sloppy.

40% – Yikes! Please tell me that you might have skipped reading a few books from this series. You lost the fight in a big way.

30% – You have so few moves you need to go back to basic training!

20% – Ouch! You were down by the second hit! Maybe this series wasn’t that memorable for you.

10% – You took one hit and went down! You need to re-read this series or forget slaying it. 

0% – You just laid down and died! Did you even read any of the books? 

How did you do? Hopefully not too bad. There are so many great moments between Chessie and Terrible in this series. I have to admit that Terrible is one of my favorite Badasses!

I would have to say that my favorite book in the series is Chasing Magic. It also has my favorite Chessie and Terrible moment so far.

“I ain’t … Don’t know how to say it up right. Never-Fuck, Chess. Thought you was dead once before, you recall? Never felt so bad in my life, not ever. Then on the other day, thought you was gone and just … I ain’t can do it, bein without you.”
He rubbed his neck, pressed his palm into his furrowed brow and took a swipe at his eyes. Cleared his throat, twice. “Don’t want to. An even if I did, ain’t can leave you down there on your alones. How I can do that one, aye? Leave my Chessiebomb there without me. ‘Specially knowin you scared on it”

“I don’t want to be here without you, either. I can’t-I don’t want to be anywhere if you’re not there.”
“Naw, naw, Chessie, ain’t wanting you- Only had the thought you come down see me, ain’t meant-”
“No. No, I don’t want that. Being here without you-I’d rather be in the City. With you. I don’t want to be without you. I don’t care where, I can’t do it, I don’t-”
His hands on the side of her face lifted her to her tiptoes, lifted her almost off her feet. Maybe he actually did; she didn’t know, because she was floating, flying, his mouth on hers sending her off the roof and into that blank lonely sky above. The sky that suddenly didn’t look so lonely, the sky that was maybe … peaceful.
“Love you, Chessie,” he murmured. “Ain’t never … Fuckin love you, more’n anything.”

Each book gets better and better. The plot keeps twisting and turning and I can’t wait to see how it all ends. I personally am hoping that Chessie and Terrible end up bonded.

Do you have a favorite Chessie and Terrible Moment? If so what is it?
Have a Great Week!

10 thoughts on “Are You A Book Slayer? # 7 – Downside Ghosts

  1. That is my favorite moment of anything in any book ever. EVER>. And I could picture each scene from the quotes, but I sometimes had trouble separating the books, because each time I do a re-read, I read them back to back to back … the awesome just runs together. 🙂

  2. Jennifer @ The Book Nympho says:

    I got 60%. 😦
    I love this series but it’s hard to keep track of what happened in what book. LOL

    • well Thanks for playing. I have been thinking about making an easier quiz to take before this. I hear that the quote match is hard because a lot of us do read the books back to back.

  3. Marlene Howard says:

    I got 60% it’s hard to remember which quote came from which book. I love this series that 2nd book was hard I wanted to slap her silly I almost threw my book lol. It took me a couple of weeks to read the next book it was gut wrenching.They have had some awesome scenes in this series and when he calls her Chessiebomb it just makes me melt. I think I need to reread them again.

    • Thanks for stopping by. I know what you mean. I think in the last 2 books out I wanted to slap Chessie a few times as well. I mean Terrible is really trying and there are just a few things she needs to get back on track with. But I have hope that the next book we will see her making better choices.

  4. Chinyere Ezinwanyi says:

    I have to admit, that quiz was hard. There are a lot of memorable moments that they begin to run together. Who can remember specific lines in all 5 books?
    I love this series

  5. kim says:

    haha….wow, 90%! Yeah I’m not addicted to this series at all! I’m currently on my 3 re-read,so everything is still fresh in my head…

  6. SwanSong says:

    Yeahh 100 %. I’m from Poland and I really love this series! Someone could make a movie based on these books 🙂

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

