Review : Cinder by Marissa Meyer

15

August 9, 2012 by thebookslayer

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . .

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

There once was a girl who was despised  by her stepmother. One of her step sisters also thought she was worthless. The other however loved her for who and what she was. That is right. This Cinderella is part cyborg in Meyer’s world.

This is not your average re-telling of a beloved classic. Marissa Meyers’ takes us to a post apocalypse world meets Caprica.

We enter the dark twisted side of this world in the first few pages. We get to see our Cinderella fixing robots instead of sweeping and cleaning the house. She also happens to be the most renowned mechanic in the area which surprises everyone since she is a teenage girl.

Prince Kai makes a surprise visit to Cinder’s in order to fix his old family robot.

He shows up in a cloak trying to hide himself so as not to attract this sort of attention.

Cinder is messing around with her foot and turns around to find Prince Kai there.

Surprise!


Cinder offers to fix his robot and in the time that he has specified.

But after meeting Prince Kai what teen girl wouldn’t have her head in the clouds a little?

“He was the fantasy of every girl in the country. He was so far out of realm, her world, that she should have stopped thinking about him the second the door had closed. Should stop thinking about him immediately. Should never think about him again, except maybe as a client – and her prince.

And yet, the memory of his fingers against her skin refused to fade.” 

But can anybody really love a cyborg?

“Do your kind even know what love is? Can you feel anything at all, or is it just… programmed?” 

Suddenly screams fill the air when someone spots a person with the dreaded disease. The next thing we know is that the alarm sounds. Cinder closes up shop and hopes she won’t catch it.

After the drama of being at the shop she heads home to her lovely life there. We all know that her life is not going to be great and it’s not. Her Stepmother is just awful! She gets banished to her room with Iko (the family’s robot).

Iko is a hoot. She has a personality chip. The things she says well let me share one my favorite Iko moment :

“Prince Kai! Check my fan, I think I’m overheating.” 

Back on task now. The tides turn from bad to worse when Peony, the one step-sister who does love her, ends up getting the disease. When this happens her Step-mother blames Cinder and turns her over for testing to find a cure.

“My only mistake was in waiting too long to be rid of you”, Adri said, running the washcloth between her fingers. “Believe me, Cinder. You are a sacrifice I will never regret.” 

Cinder is taken by robots against her will, but since she isn’t an adult she must comply to what her step-mother has done.

Cinder meets the crazy doctor and finds out some very surprising things about herself. He helps her out more than once. This also gives her direct access to Prince Kai. The plot thickens.

Before I end my review I have one last piece to add.

In classic Amanda style I have made a list. I love lists, by the way, and so I will share yet another one with you quickly.

How does Cinder Differ From the Classic Cinderella

1. Cinder is a cyborg.

2. Cinder does not remember anything before the age of eleven.

“I don’t know. I don’t actually remember anything from before the surgery.”
His eyebrows rose, his blue eyes sucking in all the light of the room.

“The cybernetic operation?”

“No, the sex change.”

The doctor’s smile faltered.
“I’m joking.” 

3. Cinder is a mechanic instead of a House keeper.

4. Cinder is volunteered to help find a cure for this disease that is going around.

5. Cinder’s Step-mom wasn’t even married to her legitimate Father so she has no idea who she really is.

6. Cinder has powers that are not normal for where she lives.

7. In this book Cinder does not have a pumpkin for a ride but car she has fixed up. It is not just any car, it’s a Volkswagen beetle.(I think. lol I know it is a car of some sort)

“It looks more like a rotting pumpkin.” 

8. Cinder does not get her happy ending yet in this book. We are left with more questions than answers.

Final Thought :

The ending of this book is just the beginning of Cinder’s journey to becoming who she was always meant to be.

Recommendation : Everyone! I mean come on it’s a Cinderella story like you have never read before. Just try it, I bet you will love it too.
Rated : 

 

15 thoughts on “Review : Cinder by Marissa Meyer

  1. o.O I’ve always wanted to read this book ^_^ I love how you used Ella Enchanted gifs to add more to your review. Kudos! This is definitely a major turn on Cinderella & definitely looking forward to reading it. Great review, Amanda!

    Ana♥

    • Thanks Ana. I put it off for a long time too because how many ways can you retell this story. But it was really good. I think you will enjoy it!

      Glad you like the gifs.

      • yeah, I’m kinda iffy on that. we get enough of the movie remakes… A Cinderella Story, Another Cinderella Story, then the third one.. Ella Enchanted, Ever After… yeaaah. After a while.. Its not so great >.< But this one does sound promising. 🙂

      • yeah. I am trying to get my hands on a few other books of the whole “Cinderella Story” and will be putting together a post about all of them from Movie’s to books etc.

  2. talksupeblog says:

    I never imagined how much I was going to love this book. I’m not into cyborgs but MMeyer totally pulled it off. Excited for Scarlet!

  3. ooh that sounds good, looking forward to seeing that post 🙂

  4. No happy ending yet? *sobs* That’s why I love fairy tales so much. I get put thru angst, but everything ends up great at the end. Is the second book out already?

    Great review! Love it 🙂

  5. Confession: I love that movie. I know it’s cheesy as all get out, but I don’t care because it’s awesome.

    I also really liked that book.

    • I love that movie too. It is one my daughter even enjoys at age 4. :0)

      I was really surprised at how much I did enjoy Cinder. This story has been told so many times that I thought for sure I would get bored but it was quite original.

  6. Jessica@a GREAT read says:

    Wow! What a review! Don’t think I’ve ever read one like this! The clips of Ella Enchanted are a nice touch, such a cute movie!

    I have this book going on my bday/xmas list! It sounds exciting! What made me really decide to give it a go is the next book! It really grabbed my attention by adding in “Red Riding Hood” so I thought I have to try this series now!

    Very nice review!

    • Thanks. I waited a while to read this too but I think it will be a great series due to her using several different fairy tales. Scarlet is Red Riding Hood, Cress might be Repunzal, Winter I think will be Snow White.

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

