Review : Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

13

August 2, 2012 by thebookslayer

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Beautiful DisasterThe new Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate percentage of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance between her and the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University’s Walking One-Night Stand.

Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby needs—and wants—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the ultimate college campus charmer. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his appeal, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’s apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match.

Warning : I do not feel this book is appropriate for those 17 and under. It deals with some mature situations and not everything is handled in a healthy manner.

Was it a Beautiful Disaster ?

Yes, it really was and that is why I loved it. Now those of you who know me know I do enjoy some very controversial books. This one is definitely all over the Goodreads charts. I will say I was leery at first. The quotes I saw lead me to think that I might not like this book. But some other friends said, “Hey give it a try.” These friends have also rated the same on other controversial books so I figured we might feel the same about this book and I was right. I did love it!

Before I go any farther you must know I do NOT think this is a YA book. It is for a mature audience not for 17 and Under. Please you must understand that the content in this book does not show a healthy working relationship and I feel YA are impressionable and this book is not an impression I condone.

That being said, I enjoyed it for what it was: a great book about how two people from fucked up backgrounds can still find love and a relationship even if it is a beautiful disaster.

The Circle

“Welcome to the bloodbath! If you are looking for Economics 101… you are in the wrong fucking place, my friend! If you seek the Circle, this is Mecca! My name is Adam. I make the rules and I call the fight.”

We dive right in to illegal fighting on school property. Abby decides to go with her friend America(honestly I can’t stand that name) and America’s boyfriend.

The man they are there to see is Travis ‘Mad Dog’ Maddox, who also happens to be Shepley’s (America’s Boyfriend) cousin.

“Our next fighter doesn’t need an introduction, but because he scares the shit outta me, I’ll give him one, anyway! Shake in your boots boys, and drop your panties ladies! I give you: Travis ‘Mad Dog’ Maddox!”

The classic slow-mo moment eyes-meet, insta-lust, happens right after ‘Mad Dog’ wins the fight.

“My eyes traveled upward; jeans spattered with blood, a set of finely chiseled abs, a bare tattooed chest drenched in sweat, and finally a pair of warm, brown eyes. … His eyes didn’t stray from mine.”

Okay so we now have met our love birds. But Abby isn’t quite ready to jump on the Travis Bandwagon. If anything she wants to stay far, far away from all of that and for a good reason. So when she can’t get out of going over to Shepley and Travis’s apartment she goes in her grungiest clothes with glasses and her hair a mess. This, of course, only makes Travis see her as a bigger challenge he must win.

Shepley can see the writing on the wall and so blatantly tells Abby how it is going to be and demands a promise from her. Very wise of him if I may say so, but also a little annoying because honestly if a girl can’t stand by her man no matter what it just isn’t going to work out in the end.

Shepley’s Warning :

“Do you know how many times he’s screwed things up for me because he one-nights the best friend? All of a sudden it’s a conflict of interest to date me because it’s fraternizing with the enemy! I’m tellin’ ya, Abby,” he looked at me, “don’t tell Mare she can’t come over or date me because you fall for Trav’s line of BS. Consider yourself warned.”

Anyway, so Travis does take Abby out, bad outfit/hair and all to eat. I thought it was quite sweet that he didn’t care especially this from a man who can be with anyone apparently. Well you can guess that he throws all kinds of surprises her way. Instead of hitting on her all the time he tells her he wants to become friends. That, my friends, is how we watch two people realize that friendship can become more. But it’s not a done deal. Abby has a few secrets of her own that are brought to light. They are actually more alike than you think. o.O

Man Code:

1. Their baby will always be a car/motorcycle or any form of transportation

“It’s a Harley Night Rod. She’s the love of my life, so don’t scratch the pain when you get on.”

2. If he is a player don’t expect him to stick around. Nine times out of Ten you will not be the girl to change him.

“How are you surprised by this? He’s Travis Fucking Maddox! He is famous for this very thing, and every time they’re surprised!”

3. They will always want to fix your problems and or make your life better.

“You can have anything you want, baby. … I’m doing it for us. You just can’t see how great it’s going to be.”

4. When they find the ‘one’, that is it, game over.

“You’re the one thing I’ve got right. You’re what I’ve been waiting for, Pigeon.”

Quotes I loved so much I had to share:

“So help me God, Travis! If you try to stop her, I will douse you with gasoline and light you on first while you sleep!” -What are Best Friends for if not for this!

“Travis was going to be a part of that, and if he wouldn’t let me save him, I had to save myself.” -True. Don’t let others bring you down.

“I wanted it as much as you did. I’ve just got a hell of a poker face,” I said, pressing my lips against his.” -Game Over!

Abby & Travis learn that :

gorgeous.

A great day starts and ends like this.

Overall I really did love this book. It had a way of drawing you back into the college atmosphere. It was crazy and reckless. All those things that youth can get away with but also seem to be a right of passage into the adult world.

Recommendation : If you are looking for a book that screams College Life and all the craziness that comes with it this is for you. This one has alpha male written all over it and therefore one Hot Read for me. Remember that I think this book is for those 18 and up!
Rated :

Thank you NetGalley for providing me with a copy of this book to read for an honest review.

13 thoughts on “Review : Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

  1. Neyra says:

    I’ll happily take on that walking one night stand, served hot and steamy! Phew!!! *fanning self* I loved the quotes, and that last picture had me aweing like a total pansy! xD Lol And nice of you to point out that this one’s for a much older crowd, I’m definitely looking forward to it now, I have it on Netgalley >.< Whoop! Lol Great review Amanda 😀

    • Thanks for stopping by. I know I didn’t put a ton about what happens but do many other people have reviewed it already. I decided to take a different approach to reviewing it. I am glad you enjoyed it. :0) I can’t wait to see what you think of it as well.

  2. wow.. very nice review.. I’m so hesitant because of the cover.. it just doesn’t appeal to me >.< But I've read another review on this one, and she both loved & hated it.. seeing as you love it, i'm willing to give it a try.. *heads over to NG… wish me luck?* lol. The title does seem very fitting though.. Beautiful Disaster.. yeah, sounds pretty good. Great review, Amanda! Adding this one to my TBR list 🙂

  3. Liesel Hill says:

    Great review! This isn’t really my type of book but after your glowing review, I’m totally on board! Thanx!

  4. I definitely still have no desire to touch this one with a ten foot pole, but it’s interesting to see reviews coming in for it from reviewers I actually know. I’m pretty sure I would want to light Travis on fire at all times throughout the book. Sigh.

    • Hahaha. There were totally times I thought that as well. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I,for one, am glad not everyone likes the same books. How boring it would be if only certain books were published. ;0) thanks again.

  5. Adina says:

    Nice Review. I’ve read Beautiful Disaster and I found it compelling reading. I raced through the book but I thought Travis was a jerk, and that he and Abby were heading for disaster. I just couldn’t imagine a long term HEA for them. The tattoo incident stuck me as obsessive. Maybe I’m unromantic 🙂 And I totally agree about the book being unsuitable for under 17s.

  6. […] 2. Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire […]

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

