Top Ten Tuesday! – Favorite World Settings In Books

15

July 23, 2012 by thebookslayer

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This week we are headed into the settings of the books. I thought this one would be hard but it wasn’t as hard as I thought. There are tons of books that I read that I really enjoy the world/setting we are put in from the book.

So here are my

Top Ten Book World Settings

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)1. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

I love the world where magic exist side by side with non-magic users. Brilliant and enjoyable.

.

.

.

Magic Bites (Kate Daniels, #1)2. Kate Daniels Series by Ilona Andrews

Magic and Technology ebbs and flows throughout.

description

.
Magic to the Bone (Allie Beckstrom, #1)3. Allie Beckstrom Series by Devon Monk

People can tap into magic that flows throughout cities in pipelines underground. It works the same way as water pipes. Really interesting concept.

 

 

.

Stormdancer
4. Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff

Japanese heritage mixed with Steampunk (gadgets) . Beautiful and Amazing!

 

 

 

.

Eternal Rider (Lords of Deliverance, #1)5. Lords of Deliverance by Larissa Ione

This series brings in a little of her other two series. So we see the 4 Horsemen of the apocalypse, demons and aliens all intermixed in the real world.

 

 

.

Pride Mates (Shifters Unbound, #1)6. Shifters Unbound by Jennifer Ashley

Shifters are made to live in old neighborhoods that are run down and fenced in. These are called Shifter Towns. Interesting twist on what happens when shifters let themselves become known to the public.

 

.

Moon Called (Mercedes Thompson, #1)7. Mercy Thompson by Patricia Briggs

This series has a little of every paranormal species. I think that is part of what makes this series so good. You never know when Vampires, Shifters Β or Fey might appear.

 

.

Divergent (Divergent, #1)8. Divergent by Veronica Roth

I thought this was an interesting take on what a society could turn out like after warring with each other. The groups are also fascinating.

 

 

.

Unholy Ghosts (Downside Ghosts, #1)9. Downside Ghosts Series by Stacia Kane

I love these books and the setting is very gritty and seems quite down to earth. There was a day of reckoning where all the ghosts/spirits got out and terrorized people. So now there is no more religion other than one. Facts are Truth. Intense. Oh it has witches too.

.
Finnikin of the Rock (Lumatere Chronicles #1)10. Finninkan of the Rock by Melina Marchetta

This series really surprised me. It is YA fantasy and it is awesome. The land and people with different languages are amazing but you don’t feel bogged down by details.

What is your favorite book world or setting?
15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! – Favorite World Settings In Books

  1. WOW what great picks!

    I haven’t read most of them but they sound awesome especially 9 and 10 πŸ™‚

    This is my first T10T!

  2. Jenny says:

    I have Hogwarts on my list as well. (How could I not?) And the whole time I was making my list, I kept kicking myself for not having read my copy of Stormdancer yet, because I was thinking how awesome the world probably is and how great it would probably go on this list. So thank you for confirming my suspicions!

  3. marissa says:

    Potter for sure and for fun, divergent maybe if I’m ahem safe haha and I really need to check out the rest of those books!

    marissa
    http://raegunwear.blogspot.com

  4. Scarlett says:

    Awesome list! I really, really love the Mercy series and simply can’t get enough of it!

    Here’s a link to mine!

  5. KateB says:

    I adore Mercy and also all the little picture you put for the Kate Daniels series. I’ve only read the first one but enjoyed it. Same with the Downtown Ghosts series.

    Great list πŸ™‚

  6. Adina says:

    Stormdancer sounds so freaking amazing.

  7. Love the list! I’ve only read the Harry Potter series and Divergent – and agree, both Worlds were spectacular.

  8. Jessica says:

    I have been curious about Finninkan of the Rock, glad to see it listed. I haven’t read amny of your books, good list πŸ™‚

  9. Shelby says:

    I haven’t heard of alot of these titles- I’ll have to check them out. I had Divergent on my list, too. =) Thanks for sharing!
    ~Shelby
    http://gobsandgobsofbooks.blogspot.com/2012/07/top-ten-most-vivid-worldssettings-in.html#comment-form

  10. Nicole says:

    Who doesn’t love Hogwarts? And FINNIKIN AND THE ROCK keeps coming up on lists… perhaps I should pick it up, hmm?

  11. Brittany says:

    I think everyone will have HP! It’s just so perfect. And I can’t wait to read Divergent! I just FINALLY picked up a copy for myself πŸ™‚

  12. Harry Potter made it onto my Top Ten as well. I haven’t read the others on your list, but the settings sound brilliant.

  13. Linda says:

    Both the Kate Daniels series and the Allie Beckstrom series world were interesting but I didn’t get past the first book of either. I’ll have to try again!

  14. aimee says:

    The fact that the Wizarding World exists in the “muggle world” is what I loved about it too (aside from all the amazing magic and the beauty of JK Rowling’s creation). Hogwarts is definitely one of my favorite settings of all time.

    I’m probably the only one who hasn’t read Divergent yet, but the sytopian setting is one of the reasons why I’m looking forward to finally read it.

    Great list!

    -Aimee | A href=”http://penmanshipsmitten.wordpress.com/2012/07/24/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-most-vivid-worlds-or-settings-in-books/”>My Top Ten list

  15. I’ve only read two of these. Wow. Have I been living under a rock? I’m about to start Stormdancer tonight though. SO READY.

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click hereΒ to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

