Review : Rock Me by Cherrie Lynn

Leave a comment

July 11, 2012 by thebookslayer

Rock Me by Cherrie Lynn

Loving him couldn’t be worse than losing him. Could it?

Candace Andrews has had enough of pleasing others. In an act of birthday rebellion, she sets out to please herself—by walking into the tattoo parlor owned by her cousin’s ex-boyfriend. All she wants is a little ink, and Brian’s just the guy to give it to her.

As soon as she submits to his masterful hands, though, the forbidden attraction she’s always felt for him resurfaces…and she realizes the devilishly sexy artist could give her so much more.

Sweet, innocent Candace is the last person Brian expected to see again. She’s everything he’s not, and her family despises him. He doesn’t need the hassle, but he needs her, and this time no one is taking her away. Not even those who threaten to make his life a living hell.

Backed into a corner, Candace faces the worst kind of choice. Cave in to those who think Brian is a living nightmare…or hold her ground and risk it all for the one man who rocks her world.

Warning: This book contains explicit sex, naughty language, tattoos aplenty, family drama, a hot rock concert…and a bad boy hero who’s pierced in all the right places.

First off  I want to state that I bought this book because I was in the mood for something Hot and Steamy. I mean the cover has promise and some of my friends on GR thought is was great as well.

I went out to B&N’s website, because I have a nook, and bought this book. Now all that was left was to read and hopefully finish the book with a smile and a raised temperature.

I am here to tell you that this book was failed me. I really wanted to love it or at least really enjoy it. However, some scenes might have been hot but having an allergic reaction to her virginity frustrated me throughout the entire book.

Key Players

Candace Andrews – Rich Innocent Women who has over bearing parents and a brother who will go off half cocked. I liked her and I didn’t. At some point she needed to take control and when she decided to she shut down emotionally, mentally, and socially. It was like night and day. This is where her character kinda lost me. If she has the guts to let go of all her parents have given her she should be able to struggle through making her own way. Plus don’t give your parents the proverbial finger than turn around and tell the man who you love, hey you need to play nice because they are my family. What the hell?

Brian Ross – From a Rich Family as well but he moves to the beat of his own drum and made his own way. I give him mad props for this. He also owns his own tattoo parlor which was way cool. He was always willing to give anyone a helping hand which was quite sweet. My biggest problem was his issues with her virginity. I mean if the women wants to give it up to you let her. I felt like he thought it was going to unman him if he took it from her.”Oh no the hairy beast will bite.” LOL okay sorry I couldn’t help it.

Evan Ross – Brian’s brother and also a lawyer. Him and his wife are actually a great couple. I thought that they really showed that family will do anything for each other even if sometimes you feel annoyed by them.

Sylvia Andrews – Queen Bitch also known as Candace’s mother. She was okay with her daughter almost being raped because the man came from a respectable family. Thinks her daughter should do everything she is told and get rid of Brian because he is trash. Really I hated her with a passion.

Macy – I think we were suppose to like her, but I really didn’t. Not even when she was able to tell the truth at the end and help solve everyone’s problems. No true friend would tell you to ditch a man who cares about you and makes you feel loved and special just because it will cause family issues when your family is full of issues.

Plot

Candace must become a women. In order to do this she needs to find the right man to take on this challenge with her. Brian Ross re-enters the scene. He used to date her cousin and Candace has been madly in love with this tattooed bad boy since she met him. I get it. I really do. I am all about the sexy bad boys and tattoos are hot. The piercings are an added benefit too.

My problem was Brian 1) thinking he wasn’t good enough for her and 2) thinking he was too old for her. I mean she was 23 he was what late 20’s early 30’s. That’s not bad dude.

If his guilt over the age thing wasn’t bad enough then when he learned she was a virgin the man clammed up. I swear he thought his man card would be revoked if he took her virginity. Good Gracious man she was freely giving it to you and you turned her the F down over and over again. I would hit you with something hard if I was Candace. I mean what did he want her to do? Go up to some stranger and have sex with them first? After that would it be okay to do it with her? Sigh. This was a sore spot for me.

Hot and Steamy

This was brought on by mass amounts of blow jobs. I am not kidding the man refused to do anything else but use his mouth and fingers. I can handle a few but it took 180 pages for him to finally pop her cherry, if you will. You can only do hot and steamy with the same thing for so long. Yes, I am saying it got old.

Best Part is that they finally get it on and then they break up. WTF? The relationship falls apart right when Brian wants to become more but Candace clams up this time. I mean lets just pass the puck of stupidity from one person to the next.

Would I suggest this book?

Well if you want to read about a frustrated virgin and a man who is afraid of the big V word than yes. Don’t forget that shit happens and we must all listen to our parents and care what they think even when they have been overbearing and over protective and think it’s okay to let their daughter practically be raped. Yeah maybe I would not recommend it. Sorry.

Rated : 
Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

