ARC Review : Defiance by C.J. Redwine

3

July 5, 2012 by thebookslayer

Defiance by C.J. Redwine

Release Date : August 28th

Defiance (Defiance, #1)Within the walls of Baalboden, beneath the shadow of the city’s brutal leader, Rachel Adams has a secret. While other girls sew dresses and obey their male Protectors, Rachel knows how to survive in the wilderness and deftly wield a sword. When her father, Jared, fails to return from a courier mission and is declared dead, the Commander assigns Rachel a new Protector, her father’s apprentice, Logan–the same boy Rachel declared her love for two years ago, and the same one who handed her heart right back to her. Left with nothing but a fierce belief in her father’s survival, Rachel decides to escape and find him herself. But treason against the Commander carries a heavy price, and what awaits her in the Wasteland could destroy her.

At nineteen, Logan McEntire is many things. Orphan. Outcast. Inventor. As apprentice to the city’s top courier, Logan is focused on learning his trade so he can escape the tyranny of Baalboden. But his plan never included being responsible for his mentor’s impulsive daughter. Logan is determined to protect her, but when his escape plan goes wrong and Rachel pays the price, he realizes he has more at stake than disappointing Jared.

As Rachel and Logan battle their way through the Wasteland, stalked by a monster that can’t be killed and an army of assassins out for blood, they discover romance, heartbreak, and a truth that will incite a war decades in the making.

The first thing that comes to mind when I think of this book is Cover Lust! Seriously is that not an awesome cover? I mean it oozes Bad*ss and action packed right? I know that is exactly what I thought too. So for the Cover I am going to have to say it won all 5 Marks for getting noticed and wanting to read/buy. Way to go Marketing team!

I wish that I could say that what I found in the pages were up to my expectation of what the cover offered. Sadly, I was led away from the awesomeness by some huge let downs and mumble-jumble of mediocre writing.

I am warning you now that this might not be pretty but it will be honest. Here is my take on Defiance.

Defiant or Deluded? Let’s take a look…

I shall do this review Logan Style.

The Best Case Scenario

I thought that the overall storyline was interesting, at least at the beginning. We have Rachel who is the only daughter of the Commander’s best Tracker. We find out that Rachel’s father has been training her since she was a little girl.

This part got me excited. Yes, I am all about Heroine’s who kick some butt. But I am telling you so many, many things could have been done better. But I will wax poetic about that later.

We also have our Hero, Logan, who comes from a humble background and has risen through the ‘ranks’. I really wanted to like Logan, but his whole ‘run through scenario’s ever minute’ drove me batshit crazy. I don’t think there was a chapter in the book in his POV that we didn’t have to read about at least on possible scenario of outcomes. Sigh, it really was too much for me.

You, as the reader, get to watch Rachel shatter in a million pieces over and over and over again then try to pick them up and move on. Yes, this really doesn’t get any better, well except there are some good quotes that come out of this book. They are few and far between, but at least they seem worth remembering.

Quotes Worth Remembering

“It’s probably my job to tell you life isn’t fair, but I figure you already know that.” His voice is steady, but his eyes look sad. “So instead, I’ll tell you that hope is precious, and you’re right not to give it up.”

“Diplomacy is a lot easier to accomplish if you’ve got your foe on his knees hoping you don’t lop off his head.”

“No one always knows what to do, Rachel. We all just do the best we can with what we’ve got. Sometimes it works. Sometimes it ruins everything.”

“Had answers? I might.” He shrugs. “But they’re answers I had to find for myself. I don’t think they’ll work for anyone else.”

I think that is about all the good parts I have.

The Worst Case Scenario

This, my fellow readers, is where my review will get long and may turn rantish. I apologize but I can’t help it. As I said earlier, the cover and blurb held so much promise but fell short in so many ways for me.

The Whiplash Effect

I really hate when books switch POV’s every chapter. It gives me Reader’s Whiplash. This is not a joke and I am telling you every book like this that I have read has been dubbed with this effect. Major points get deducted. I am more than happy to stay in one person’s POV or have a few glimpses into another person scattered throughout, key word scattered/few/not many. Do I really need to keep going with this one? Damn the rant is starting.

The Scenario Complex

I found this book repetitive as well. The whole scenario complex was just too much. I thought it was neat at the beginning but the same thing every other chapter got old and brought on pain every time Logan’s POV came up. I kid you not it was like Freud’s Pavlov’s Dog theory.

See Logan’s name at the title of the Chapter – instant painful thoughts of his senecio complex. This is not the kind of thing you want to stick out in a book.

Characterization What?

Rachel annoyed me. Logan annoyed me. Melkin was an idiot. The Commander made me want to hurl several times. The only good character was her father but he is in so very little of the book that for that reason alone might be why I liked him the most.

I wasn’t sure if I really believed Rachel and Logan should even be together.  Yes, we have a love triangle or at least I think we do. I like at least one person to shine through, but my emotions on this matter ebbed and flowed between Logan and Quinn(who I liked and didn’t like as well). This was not a good thing. Most of the time it just left me feeling awkward. Thus big problems in the depth of characters for me, if you couldn’t tell.

The Drop Zone

I felt like there were many ups & downs with this story and not in a good way. The plot would look like it was gaining speed and getting interesting then plateau or just drop off completely. I was left feeling disappointed and yet again annoyed during the majority of this book.

40% in I was having a hard time getting through. Every 10% got worse.

80% I was just done. It was a complete skim to the end. This is not how I should feel. The middle I can forgive some skimming but I do enjoy being captivated at the end and this one just… did not hold any interest for me.

Crash and Burn Baby

It felt like through the whole book we are ‘suppose’ to be building up to this last battle and then BAM! We get a train wreak instead of Epic Awesomeness or even a decent battle would have done. But no, it just crashed into carelessness and a jumble of thoughts and events.

Recommendation : I really don’t think I can.
Rated : 

I do have to thank Edelweiss for providing me with a copy of this book for an honest review. This one just wasn’t my cup of tea.

3 thoughts on “ARC Review : Defiance by C.J. Redwine

  1. […] Overall I was left feeling annoyed and disappointed. I really wanted to love this book, but it just did not happen. For more you can read my review of Defiance here. […]

  2. […] I have said enough. If you want to know what else I find offensive you can check out my review on Defiance by C.J. Redwine. I think that one covered quite a few things I don’t […]

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

