Top Ten Tuesday! – If you like Julia Quinn try…

9

July 2, 2012 by thebookslayer

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

 This week I wasn’t sure if I was to suggest books by the author I picked or other books people would most likely enjoy if you enjoyed this authors books. So I choose to pick books that you would like if you enjoyed this author b/c really I love all the books that she has written and picking 10 would just be hard.

Top Ten Books for People who enjoy the Author Julia Quinn
1. A Rogue By Any Other Name by Sarah MacLean

A Rogue By Any Other Name (The Rules of Scoundrels, #1)

What a scoundrel wants, a scoundrel gets . . .

A decade ago, the Marquess of Bourne was cast from society with nothing but his title. Now a partner in London’s most exclusive gaming hell, the cold, ruthless Bourne will do whatever it takes to regain his inheritance—including marrying perfect, proper Lady Penelope Marbury.

A broken engagement and years of disappointing courtships have left Penelope with little interest in a quiet, comfortable marriage, and a longing for something more. How lucky that her new husband has access to such unexplored pleasures.

Bourne may be a prince of London’s underworld, but he vows to keep Penelope untouched by its wickedness—a challenge indeed as the lady discovers her own desires, and her willingness to wager anything for them . . . even her heart.

2. A Night to Surrender by Tessa Dare

A Night to Surrender (Spindle Cove, #1)Welcome to Spindle Cove, where the ladies with delicate constitutions come for the sea air, and men in their prime are… nowhere to be found. Or are they?

Spindle Cove is the destination of choice for certain types of well-bred young ladies: the painfully shy, young wives disenchanted with matrimony, and young girls too enchanted with the wrong men; it is a haven for those who live there.

Victor Bramwell, the new Earl of Rycliff, knows he doesn’t belong here. So far as he can tell, there’s nothing in this place but spinsters… and sheep. But he has no choice, he has orders to gather a militia. It’s a simple mission, made complicated by the spirited, exquisite Susanna Finch—a woman who is determined to save her personal utopia from the invasion of Bram’s makeshift army.

Susanna has no use for aggravating men; Bram has sworn off interfering women. The scene is set for an epic battle… but who can be named the winner when both have so much to lose?

3. Devil’s Bride by Stephanie Laurens

Devil's Bride (Cynster, #1)When Devil, the most infamous member of the Cynster family, is caught in a compromising position with plucky governess Honoria Wetherby, he astonishes the entire ton by offering his hand in marriage. No one had dreamed this scandalous rake would so tamely take a bride. As society’s mamas swooned at the loss of England’s most eligible bachelor, Devil’s infamous Cynster cousins began to place wagers on the wedding date.

But Honoria wasn’t about to bend to society’s demands and marry a man just because they’d been found together unchaperoned. No. She craved adventure. Solving the murder of a young Cynster cousin fit the bill for a while, but once the crime was solved, Honoria was set on seeing the world. But the scalding heat of her unsated desire for Devil soon had Honoria craving a very different sort of excitement. Could her passion for Devil cause her to embrace the enchanting peril of a lifelong adventure of the heart?

4. All Night with a Rogue by Alexandra Hawkins

All Night with a Rogue (Lords of Vice, #1)Notorious, handsome, and decadent, the Lords of Vice prowl the glittering ballrooms of Regency London— breaking rules and hearts with equal aplomb. But even the wildest rogue must eventually meet his match…
Seduce Lady Juliana Ivers and then cast her aside: Those are his sister’s instructions. Alexius Braverton, Marquess of Sinclair—known as Sin to the ton—is happy enough to oblige, especially when he catches a glimpse of his target. Juliana is completely unlike the empty-headed chits who barely hold his attention for a week. A true gentleman would leave her to find a worthy suitor. But then, a Lord of Vice would never claim to be a gentleman.
Juliana is expected to marry well to improve her family’s finances, even if she secretly longs to make a living through her musical compositions. A dalliance can only complicate matters, though not even practical Juliana can help succumbing to the aptly named Sin. But one unforgettable night will draw her into a scandalous affair—and a seduction begun as sport will soon become deliciously, dangerously real…

5. Lady Maggie’s Secret Scandal by Grace Burrowes

Lady Maggie's Secret Scandal (The Duke's Daughters, #2)(Windham, #5)Maggie Windham, oldest of the Windham sisters and a by-blow from His Grace’s pre-marital wild oats, finds herself in desperate needs of an investigator to help her retrieve a missing reticule. Benjamin Hazlit knows the Windham family secrets, and can be trusted to keep them to himself, so Maggie turns to Benjamin, though it means ignoring his too-broad shoulders, his too-knowing smile… and his too-skilled kisses.

As Benjamin starts the search for Maggie’s missing purse, he realizes two things: First, whatever was in that purse, its loss has Maggie not just rattled, but terrified. Second, Benjamin will go to any lengths to see Maggie’s peace of mind restored, even if it means he must keep himself in very close proximity to the shy, secretive lady who says she wants nothing to do with him.

6. The Truth About Lord Stoneville by Sabrina Jeffries

Bozulan Yeminler In the two decades since a tragic “accident” took the lives of his parents, Oliver Sharpe, the Marquess of Stoneville, has survived the scandal surrounding that fateful night by living as an unrepentant rakehell.

And with his grandmother vowing to disinherit him if he doesn’t settle down and wed, he plans to fulfill the bargain in true Sharpe style — by bringing home a fake fiancée from a brothel!

But his scheme is derailed when he rescues an American beauty in a dire predicament instead. Maria Butterfield came to London to track down her groom-to-be, who’s gone missing, but her engagement won’t stop Oliver from getting what he wants: her, in his bed.

His rebellious masquerade may call his grandmother’s bluff , but it’s soon made all too real — by a love that tempts him to be a hellion no more.

7. Secrets of a Summer Night by Lisa Kleypas

Secrets of a Summer Night (Wallflowers, #1)Four young ladies enter London society with one common goal: they must use their feminine wit and wiles to find a husband. So a daring husband-hunting scheme is born.

Annabelle Peyton, determined to save her family from disaster, decides to use her beauty and wit to tempt a suitable nobleman into making an offer of marriage. But Annabelle’s most intriguing — and persistent — admirer, wealthy, powerful Simon Hunt, has made it clear that while he will introduce her to irresistible pleasure he will not offer marriage. Annabelle is determined to resist his unthinkable proposition … but it is impossible in the face of such skillful seduction.

Her friends, looking to help, conspire to entice a more suitable gentleman to offer for Annabelle, for only then will she be safe from Simon — and her own longings. But on one summer night, Annabelle succumbs to Simon’s passionate embrace and tempting kisses … and she discovers that love is the most dangerous game of all.

8. The Bride by Julie Garwood

The Bride (Lairds' Fiancees, #1)By the king’s edict, Alec Kincaid, mightiest of the Scottish lairds, must take an English bride. And Jaime the youngest daughter of Baron Jamison, is his choice. From his first glimpse of the proud and beautiful English lady, Alec felt a burning hunger stir within him. This was a woman worthy of his fearless warrior’s spirit. And he aches to touch her, tame her, possess her…forever.

But with the wedding vows, Jamie pledges her own secret oath: She will never surrender her love to this Highland barbarian. He was everything her heart warned her against — an arrogant, brooding scoundrel whose rough good looks and seductive embrace fire her blood. But when strange accidents begin to threaten Jamie’s life and an old rumor that Alec killed his first wife spreads anew, something far more dangerous than desire threatens to conquer he senses.

9. The Spymaster’s Lady by Joanna Bourne

The Spymaster's Lady (The Spymaster's Lady, #2)She’s never met a man she couldn’t deceive…until now.

She’s braved battlefields. She’s stolen dispatches from under the noses of heads of state. She’s played the worldly courtesan, the naive virgin, the refined British lady, even a Gypsy boy. But Annique Villiers, the elusive spy known as the Fox Cub, has finally met the one man she can’t outwit.

10. Slightly Shady by Amanda Quick

Slightly Shady (Lake/March, #1)Amanda Quick’s trademark is a bestselling combination of suspense, passion, and sparkling wit in historical tales alight with intrigue. Now she serves up the most tantalizing novel of her career as an enterprising woman allies herself with a mysterious spy, only to be caught up in a torrid brew of treachery–and temptation….

SLIGHTLY SHADY

From the moment the stranger burst into her antiquities shop in Rome, Lavinia Lake knew he was nothing but trouble. He said he was in pursuit of a killer. He swore he was only trying to save her. Yet Lavinia was convinced that Mr. Tobias March was bent instead on destroying her. When the self-described spy hustled her all the way back to England, Lavinia vowed she would find a way to repay him in full. She never dreamed that Mr. March had in fact been telling the truth, that he had been hired to track down a powerful villain. And just as his investigation was heating up, he found it complicated by the most ungovernable, exasperating–and slightly shady–woman he had ever met. Lavinia most certainly never dreamed they would meet again, forced into partnership under shocking circumstances–or that their fiery disputes would spark a sizzling desire as overwhelming as the danger they faced…

I have enjoyed all these books and their series. If you haven’t given Julia Quinn a try than I would suggest The Bridgerton Series! She is one of my favorite’s. But if you have already fallen in love with her books than give the above suggestions and Authors a try. You might be surprised and fall in love with the many loveable infuriating characters in these books as well.

Do you have a favorite Author? If so who is it and what book is your favorite?

Advertisements

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! – If you like Julia Quinn try…

  1. I haven’t read any of these, but I love historical fiction, so I’ll certainly have a look at these books!

    • Awesome. I love historical romance but there is no way I could have lived then. I just went 3 days without power and Internet and it was hard. My phone was my lifeline. Lol.
      Thanks for stopping by.

  2. I have one novel by Julia Quinn in my collection, but I haven’t read it yet. Maybe I give it a chance and then look for some of these. 🙂

  3. I have not read any historical romance in a long time. I have not heard of any of these before. But I have read other books by Amanda Quick.

  4. Always enjoyed historical romance, especially when I was younger, but I haven’t opened one recently. Thanks for the reminder. Good list.

  5. Eloisa James I would not recommend to an enemy!
    Judith McNaught could be a nice choice

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

%d bloggers like this: