Review : The Werewolf’s Wife by Michele Hauf

2

June 26, 2012 by thebookslayer

The Werewolf’s Wife by Michele Hauf

The Werewolf's Wife

The legacy he must obey…
The child she must save…
The man who threatens to fulfill her every fantasy…
and break her heart.

Alpha wolf Ridge Addison left his wife in Las Vegas, vowing to put their one reckless night of passion behind him and return to his clan. Thirteen years later he needs a divorce so he can become pack leader. Yet he’s never forgotten the sensuous witch whose life he saved…or the knee-buckling kisses he still craves.

After they parted, Abigail tried banishing Ridge from her memory. Now her heart belongs only to her son. But when the boy is kidnapped, she knows she alone can’t save him. Though Abigail’s body still aches for Ridge, she’s willing to give him his freedom in exchange for his help. But who will shield her heart from the only man she’s ever let claim her, body and soul?

When I read the synopsis it sounded like the perfect summer beach read. Light fluffy, happy ending sort of read. Man was I off the mark, but in a good way.

This book was intense. It grabs you and sends your emotions through a grinder while trying to keep up on the adventure. This book was not light or fluffy. It had pull, substance and I did not see the road signs ahead.

This book is a definite read this summer. Werewolves, Vampires and Witches Oh My! It has everything a paranormal romance reader could ask for.

I have not read any of her other books but never once felt lost. I was able to keep up with who was who. It also made me want to read more about certain characters. Yup, this book has made me a Michele Hauf fan.

We get a sneak peek at Ridge in the very beginning. This scene is what mislead me. It was light and fluffy. He is working the land, clearing trees with a chain saw and horses.  He wants to keep his business nature friendly if you will.

We find out he is the new pack leader in town and must now take a wife and produce cuddly little weres to help expand the pack, which is dwindling. I mean to say there are 4 members total. So for him and his pack it’s a big deal. But he can’t have kids due to an incident 13 years ago.

What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas has applied till now. His wife, his little witch cast a infertility spell and so he must get that removed and divorce her.

Well I thought I saw the signs ahead. Go find witch. Argue, take her back, and fall in love. Then everything turns out peachy. I was wrong.

The scene shifts to Abby getting ready to pick her son up at the airport. I can work with this, so add a son to my earlier equation. But then she gets the call. Someone has kidnapped her son and is holding him for ransom. She now has to hunt down this vampire in to exchange for her son.

About this time Ridge shows up and harsh words are spoken. However, Abby does eventually share her problem and wrangles Ridge into helping.

The journey begins.

Adored :

* I loved Ridge. I pictured him as a modern-day knight in shining armour. He was honorable through out and was willing to help all those in need.  I was so happy that he was able to get his HEA!

Richard Addison (Ridge)

“Let no man challenge him without due strength and strong morals.”

* Abby was a feisty witch. I enjoyed watching the walls that she had built up around her heart and life crumble. She is one tough cookie but learned that sometimes you have to let other people in, those who love you, help you with problems. You don’t have to do everything alone. In some ways she reminded me of Kate Daniels.

Abigail Addison (Abby)

descriptiondescription

* Ryan, Abby’s son, was like every other teenage boy I have met. He was growing out of his awkward phase and had an interest in anything that spelled trouble. I can only hope that he gets a story in the future.

* I really enjoyed Severo and will be looking for his story. Vampire married to a Werewolf,  yup sounds like a fun ride to me.

* The Blood sport

“…blood sport – a wicked game that pitted blood-starved vampires against one another to the death – …”

This reminded me of UK’s TV show Being Human. If you have seen the show than you remember when the vampires would pit the weres against humans etc.

Not A Fan Of :

* Some things were predictable in the book. However, Michele did go to great lengths to try to confuse you and therefore question whether or not your guess was right.

* I thought the whole lumberjack thing was a little chessy. I know it is probably just me, but really I just wanted to laugh, okay I did laugh. Not good.

* The opening scene could have been deleted. I could have been happy starting the book with Abby getting ready to pick up Ryan. I think that why Ridge was there and who he was to her were explained well without the odd winter scene at the beginning. As I said before I just laughed through it.

Favorite Quotes:

“Thank God for that. I mean, that it was your worst memory. I’d hate it to be me that was your worst.” Because memories never went away, and their haunting ability could fell a grown man to his knees.

“Men really were touchy about damage to their manhood.”

“What’s important is not what we did then, but what we do now, and the intention with which we do it.”

Recommendation :  Those who are looking for a great Paranormal Romance book to read this summer. It has plenty of action, plot twists and just enough steam.
Rated : 
Soundtrack Bonus :
Simple Man by Shinedown
We Found Love by Rihanna (Played by Jake Coco and Corey Gray)
Thank you Harlequin and NetGalley for providing me with a copy of this book for an honest review.
2 thoughts on “Review : The Werewolf’s Wife by Michele Hauf

  1. […] 9. The Werewolf’s Wife by Michele Hauf […]

  2. […] The Werewolf’s Wife by Michele Hauf & The Last Echo by Kimberly […]

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

