Top Ten Tuesday!

16

June 25, 2012 by thebookslayer

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This week was actually harder to find the right books than I thought. It is all about characters this week and people we know in real life. Well I read a ton of paranormal books and these type of people just don’t exist. I was able to find certain characteristics in some characters that I have found in people I know.

So here is my …

Top Ten Characters Who Remind Me Of Myself OR Someone I Know In Real Life

1. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter, #3)

The Weasley Twins

There were actually twins in the high school that I transferred to my Senior Year with the same personalities. They were known as The Wallace twins and I swear to this day that they rear-ended my car in the parking lot. LOL!

 

 

 

2. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen 

Pride and Prejudice

Mrs. Bennet

I swear this is my mother. I love her to pieces I really, really do but she could be exchanged for Mrs. Bennet. My sisters and I actually sit down and watch the Movie of this all the time and just laugh and laugh about how much like our family it is. Sad but true.

 

 

 

3. No, David! by David Shannon

No, David!

David

This book could be written about my son, Liam. I feel like I have these No David moments almost everyday. I love my son, but at the age of 3 No is still said regularly.

 

 

 

 

4. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, #2)

Mrs. Weasley

We get to know Mrs. Weasley I little more in this book and that is the character that I have seen in my life. Mrs. Guffey was exactly like Mrs. Weasley. A great parent and could manage her large family with ease. Plus how can you not love Mrs. Weasley and I felt the same way about her too.

 

 

 

 

5. A Week to Be Wicked by Tessa Dare

A Week to Be Wicked (Spindle Cove, #2)

Minerva Highwood

She reminds me of my sister Jess. Jessica was a huge bookworm growing up. She could out read me any day back then. But I think I now out read her.

Anyway, she also had an adventurous streak that showed up later in life just like Minerva. Plus Minerva does tell some interesting stories. My sister, she was a story-teller.

 

 

 

6. Going Cowboy Crazy by Katie Lane

Going Cowboy Crazy (Deep in the Heart of Texas, #1)

Faith Aldridge

The beginning of this story is the closet I can get to my life. I was a city girl who moved to a country town my senior year of High School. I drove a Mercedes and was surrounded by Trucks and SUV’s. Everyone knew everyone and had grown up around each other. I came from a huge school so this small town feel was new to me.

 

 

7. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)

Hermione Granger

I think everyone knows the smart girl who is fun to be around but not always the most popular because, let’s face it, smart kids in school usually get picked on. Well I had a friend who was smart, kind and loyal. Hermione will always remind me of Shannon and I am so glad that we are still friend today! Thank Goodness we grow out of High School Issues.

 

 

 

8. Rock Chick by Kristen Ashley

Rock Chick (Rock Chick, #1)

Lee Nightingale

I had another friend growing up that her father was a Military Man. This guy was not only built like The Rock but he was one scary motherF*er. I kid you not if we ever got in trouble I would have peed my pants. This guy oozed the whole ‘don’t mess with me’ vibe. Lee Nightingale is also ex-Military and has the same vibe going on.

 

 

 

9. Catching Jordan by Miranda Kenneally

Catching Jordan

Jordan Woods

I not only met a girl who played on hubby’s school football team, but his school lived and breathed football. I swear the parents were worse than the kids. This is why I won’t ever send my kids to this school. No offense but I am all about the arts and not the sports. I would not have survived school in this area.

 

 

 

10.  Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

Hush, Hush (Hush, Hush, #1)

Vee Sky

I had a roommate in college who reminded me of Vee. A wild child that was loud and proud. Andy may have stolen another roommates car and taken a trip across the US; found a man got prego and had to go to jail for a little while. Yup! But she loved getting a rise out of everyone and Vee seems to be that way in this book.

 

-Don’t worry. Andy straightened her life out and now she is an upstanding citizen. No really it’s true. But Andy if I ever write a book you must be in it. You sure knew how to have a good time.

So do any of these characters remind you of a personal friend or family? If not please feel free to share the character and who they remind you of. As always if you want to share a story about it feel free. I love hearing them.

Thanks for stopping by.

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday!

  1. We have similar tastes – and I love your selection of Minerva! Wish I could say that I was like her … not sure I’m as adventurous though!

  2. I can so relate to your No David book!! My son is 8 now but I didn’t think we were ever going to get past the NO DAVID stage!!!
    (Some days I feel like we’re still there…sigh)
    LOVE your list!

  3. Fantastic list! I’m quite jealous, I’m drawing a blank this week. Maybe the morning will surprise me with some ideas. I sure remember the No, David years…now the Nos are directed at the dog 🙂

  4. Great list! I think Hermione’s going to be a very popular choice today, and while I haven’t heard of some of the books on your list, I still enjoyed it!

  5. I love that you knew twins like the Weasley twins! I think they would simultaneously annoy and fascinate me.

  6. Oh my, your family is really like the Bennetts??? I thought I was the only one – though in my case it’s my husband’s family! And yet I love them all… (I wonder if falling in love with P & P helped?) Loved the Harry Potter references too. This is my first visit/attempt at a Tuesday Top Ten

  7. Oh, my mother reminds me of Mrs. Bennet sometimes as well: just a couple of minutes ago she was nagging to me about something.

  8. Milda Harris says:

    You knew some “Weasley twins”? That’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

