Stormdancer Pandemonium !

10

June 18, 2012 by thebookslayer

Stormdancer Pandemonium!

That’s right Ladies and Gentlemen.  Mass amounts of child trading going on for a promised ARC of this book! Stormdancer has taken Goodreads by, well for lack of a better word, storm.

I can tell you that I jumped on that band wagon at full speed ahead. But before I share the details of the book I have one word,

Steampunk  Baby!

Okay it was two words, but I love finding great books in this genre. Those who enjoy this genre know how hard it can be. I have been doing my happy dance ever since.

I know you were secretly dancing too. Let me share the beautiful covers.

Drum Roll Please!

USA

Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff

UK Cover Love

Stormdancer (The Lotus War, #1)

I know I love them too. She looks bad*ss to me. Seriously, I don’t want to piss her off anytime soon. There has got to be some series action scenes going on with an awesome Heroine.

Do I hear you asking for more about this book? I certainly did. Without further ado let’s read the blurb.

A DYING LAND 
The Shima Imperium verges on the brink of environmental collapse; an island nation once rich in tradition and myth, now decimated by clockwork industrialization and the machine-worshipers of the Lotus Guild. The skies are red as blood, the land is choked with toxic pollution, and the great spirit animals that once roamed its wilds have departed forever. 

AN IMPOSSIBLE QUEST 
The hunters of Shima’s imperial court are charged by their Shōgun to capture a thunder tiger – a legendary creature, half-eagle, half-tiger. But any fool knows the beasts have been extinct for more than a century, and the price of failing the Shōgun is death. 

A HIDDEN GIFT 
Yukiko is a child of the Fox clan, possessed of a talent that if discovered, would see her executed by the Lotus Guild. Accompanying her father on the Shōgun’s hunt, she finds herself stranded: a young woman alone in Shima’s last wilderness, with only a furious, crippled thunder tiger for company. Even though she can hear his thoughts, even though she saved his life, all she knows for certain is he’d rather see her dead than help her. 

But together, the pair will form an indomitable friendship, and rise to challenge the might of an empire.

 

Sounds Awesome doesn’t it? I know. I know! I want to read it too. I mean come on shifters, hunters, and a girl you know will kick some major butt. I could not ask for more. Let’s not forget that this is book 1. I can only hope that it means we get to watch these characters evolve over a few books. I am personally hoping that this book ranks right up there with Angelfall for best books read in 2012!

Okay, I wanted to share some quotes/opinions of this book with all of you.

Archer’s Status Updates:

“The Kickassery of the characters is second to none in this genre.”

“This is by far one of the best steampunk yarns I have ever read”

“Fucking epic. “

My personal favorite :

“HOLY SHIT!

First off, Jay, you write the most exquisite violence.

I shit you not. It was beautiful in its brutality. The parallels to V for Vendetta I spotted earlier are rearing their Fawksian head in the best possible way, the paraphrasing of one quote was truly beautiful… Jay if same sex marriage were legal here and we didn’t have ladies… I’d be on my knees with a fucking ring.”

Oh but there is more I tell you. MORE!

Kat’s Status Updates:

“There needs to be sex in this book! Please let there be sex!”

(I am right there with you Kat!)

“Flaming shitballs of fiery magnitude, blazing across the sky and impacting on a lack filled with unicorn milk. SHIT. JUST. GOT. REAL.”

“If this book makes me cry, I will punch you, Kristoff. Then I will buy you a beer.”

(I think that tears followed. Note to self must be ready with tissues.)

Seeing a pattern of Awesomeness yet? Let’s look at one more just to make sure.

Stephanie’s Status Updates:

“Excellent world building. Good stuff, people.”

“Right now in this moment I’m loving this book so hard. Very entertaining dialogue between the griffin and Yukiko.”

“I want the little prick to die already!”

Another Fave:

“You bastard whoreson,” the big one spat. “I’ll kill you and all your little girlfriends.”
Oh shit. Something tells me: Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

I think we can all agree that not only are the covers beautiful for both USA and UK, but from these updates the story/tale must be F*ing Awesome! I can tell you I am stoked and will be hounding netgalley to get a copy of this book. Yes, you heard right. I have it from a reliable source that this bad boy or should I say girl will be on netgalley soon.

 Don’t forget you need to visit Jay’s website  to check out all the fun giveaways and more! From reading his posts and comments in status’s he is hilarious. Honestly, if he writes his books the same way, which yeah he would, then it is going to be Great!

Oh you wanna know when you can buy it? Well…

AUS wins the race at
August 21st
UK gets the honors of going 2nd
September 13th

While USA lags behind a few days at
September 18th

Either way mark your calendars & set your phone alarms for this momentous occasion!
10 thoughts on “Stormdancer Pandemonium !

  1. Haha, this is awesome! I want a copy so bad! FYI, for me, your very first image is not showing up. It might just be me because my internet is spotty right now, but just in case it isn’t, I wanted you to know. Anyway, can’t wait until this shows up on NetGalley.

  2. Archer says:

    Australia wins the race at August 21st lol

  3. […] I have heard this will be on Netgalley which means I will be relentlessly hounding them with requests till I get an ARC. ;o) For more information click here. […]

  4. o0sarah0o says:

    *sigh* Ifonly I could get both covers, they’re beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

