18 & Over Blogger Follow # 25

13

April 20, 2012 by thebookslayer


Hosted by Crystal @ Reading Between the Wines
Question : Has a book ever left you feeling depressed? If so, make sure to share what it was and why.

Answer :Yes, this usually coexists with my awful-ending-so-don’t-even-start shelf. I am usually not a fan of depressing endings but can overlook them if the series ends well. 
Examples

Reckoning (Strange Angels, #5)The Reckoning by Lili St. Crow
This is the final book in The Strange Angels or as I have heard called and will forever call it The Strangels was one of the worst endings of a series I have ever read. I know I thought the first 4 books were okay, but this book with this ending was the first review I put the F-word in. I try not to rant in my reviews but I was so upset I spent hours and hours reading 5 books for an ending that wasn’t an ending. I dedicated my awful-ending-so-don’t-even-start shelf to this book.

Wolfcry (The Kiesha'ra, #4) Wolfcry by Amelia Atwater-Rhodes
This book is yet another YA book (I tend to be more disappointed in this genre I don’t know why).  It is the 4th installment in the Kiesha’ra series. I absolutely loved the first one, Hawksong, and thought the next two were okay. But this one was out there. I totally thought that she was going to pick between the two suitor’s at the beginning or the guy she meets later on. But she picks a female companion instead. I was just confused as to why she went into great detail of all the guys and not very much of the girl and then BAM she picks the one we know so little about. It was just very confusing and depressing.

The Last one I will leave you with is:

Silver Is For Secrets (Blue Is For Nightmares, #3)Silver is for Secrets by Laurie Faria Stolarz
This is the 3rd out of 4 books in the Blue is for Nightmares series. I enjoyed the first 2 and was excited to see where it was going. Stacey finally gets to spend a vacation with friends esp. her boyfriend Jacob and her nightmares return. She spends the whole book trying to keep her friend alive because she saw her die in her nightmare to turn around and lose her boyfriend because of altering the future. Yeah, you heard me right her boyfriend dies after all her hard work. Depressing ending I do not know a better one to nominate.


Now it is your turn!

13 thoughts on “18 & Over Blogger Follow # 25

  1. I have not read any of these books and I am not going to!! LOL I totally understand how you feel — this is why I read the epilogue or ending chapters to some books first to avoid this!! LOL :)Here is mine: http://bellesbookbag.blogspot.com/2012/04/18-over-book-blogger-follow_20.html

  2. mrsaubergine says:

    I haven't read these either and will steer clear. I don't need the heartfail!

  3. Claire says:

    I've not read an of these books but I love Lilith Saintcrow's Dante Valentine and Jill Kismet series.Here is mine if you get chance to stop by Claire's Book Corner Have a great weekend.

  4. Madame D says:

    Damn!! I've not read any of these, shame on me!!

  5. Jamie says:

    Nice post! Thanks for stopping by our Dirty Little Secret on our blog.New follower here via GFC!Jamie@Addicted2Heroines

  6. Kah Cherub says:

    My Dirty little secret was about dark-hunter Acheron. a veeeery good guy. LOL. I'm a new gfc follower! :)http://notjustnonsense.blogspot.com.br/

  7. Madame D says:

    This comment has been removed by the author.

  8. Marie says:

    I've not read any of these, and now I don't want too. LOL

  9. Viari Rose says:

    I don't think I could read those. I'm a new GFC follower.Here's mine: http://theebookreviewers.blogspot.com/2012/04/18-over-book-blogger-follow.html

  10. Fiona Druce says:

    I have the same tendency. If I start to feel really angry or if I get depressed, it takes a whole heck of a lot to get me to keep reading; I usually end up just putting the book down.

  11. C.S. Maxwell says:

    I haven't read any of your choices, but I do have the first one in my TBR pile…just too damn many other books to get to. Here is my list:http://www.csmaxwell.blogspot.com/2012/04/18-and-over-book-blogger-follow.html

  12. Oh, no! I hate when you invest yourself in an entire series and the ending of it disappoints you like that! I haven't read any of these but Silver is for Secrets by Laurie Faria Stolarz ending sounds really depressing, jezus.Thanks for participating in the follow!

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

