Review : Red-Headed Stepchild by Jaye Wells

5

April 19, 2012 by thebookslayer

Red-Headed Stepchild by Jaye Wells 
Red-Headed Stepchild by Jaye Wells
Rated : 
Before I get into the review I do have to state that this review has been on my goodreads page since Sept. 5, 2010 . I have kept reading the series and have enjoyed it so far. Without further Ado I give you my review.
Recommendation : If you enjoy Vampires and Assassins mixed with Mages, Faeries and a sprinkle of Demons then this book is for you. 


Sabina Kane is something of an outcast. She is not only an assassin has mixed blood. She is half vampire and half mage and was raised by her Grandmother who is the head of the Vampires.  Sabina is looked down upon because of her mixed blood and therefore only good for the grunt work.  


The opening scene starts out with Sabina having to kill her friend. Now I know what you are thinking. Why would anyone do such a thing?  But she was given an order and told he broke the law that is punishable by death. This one act is what makes her start to question everything. Before she knows it she gains a Demon and a mage who just might be more than he appears. Sabina has to go undercover to get close to the leader of a revolt and more than one type of sparks fly. Conflicting feelings of trust and what is right and wrong continue as she tries to pick a side. Will she stay true to the Vampires or switch to the Mages?

Side Notes:

*I laughed, cried, was pissed and loved the characters in this book.

*You will want to have The Mage in Black on hand for when you finish this book. The ending is a killer and you will want to know what happens next.

*Keep tissues ready because the beginning is a tearjerker.


Adam Lazarus – Mage Extraordinaire !
/
Favorite Quotes:
“I walked to the door where Clovis waited. When I looked up, he was staring at Adam. A quick glance backward confirmed Adam was returning his stare. Freaking males, I thought, they couldn’t be more obvious about their territorial dispute if they’d both peed on me.” 

“We passed by a few workers, who did double takes as we ran past. I supposed that the image of a hairless cat in a sweater being followed by a stressed-looking chick in stiletto boots could have been funny. I was too anxious to get the hell out of there to see any humor in it.” 

“Is that all you bought?” His eyes shot to the left. “Um.” I clenched my teeth. “What else?” “A Super Mega Juicer,” he said quickly. “But, Sabina, seriously that juicer is a miracle machine.” “I’m a vampire, Giguhl. The only liquids I drink are blood and alcohol. I don’t do juice.”

-Amanda
5 thoughts on “Review : Red-Headed Stepchild by Jaye Wells

  1. Great review, this one has been on my tbr list since last July! I'll have to try and read it this year. I love the cover of it!-Turning The Pages

  2. Thanks Miss Kimberly Stardust I have really enjoyed this series and I def. think it is a must read!

  3. emaginette says:

    It does sound good. 🙂

  4. I've MUST read this. I've been meaning to…will have to move it up on my TBR list!

  5. Rea says:

    Urban fantasy has really grown on me over the past two years. This is one of those books that calls my name but I haven't given into its siren call yet! :p Maybe the next time I visit the store!

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

