Review : The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

9

April 9, 2012 by thebookslayer

The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

The Immortal Rules (Blood of Eden, #1)
Rated : 
Recommend : If you enjoy Young Adult Paranormal books about Vampires then give this a try. Julie Kagawa takes the normal vampire book and gives it a dark twist. 
The book begins with a hanging. Yes you heard right. Right off the bat we have children being hung for stealing food. The society that Julie Kagawa created reminded me of The Hunger Games in that the cities seem to be kept apart from each other and people are kept in the dark about all things. There are fences and walls keeping out the Rabids and keeping Registered and Unregistered people in. Vampires run this show though. They keep people like Cattle. If you are Registered, branded, then you get meal tickets. If you are not then you must steal and that is a hanging offence. Those that are Registered must donate blood once a month no matter what. 


Allison Sekemoto is an Unregistered. Her family is a bunch of orphans like her who live in an abandoned condemned school building. They stick together because there is power in numbers especially when rival gangs are all around. Allie has a soft spot for helping out her friend Stick. This happens to bring about her being hunted, but I am getting ahead of myself. Due to starvation she went outside the wall to find food amongst the Rabids territory. She gets run out of a house by a Rabid deer and finds a concealed stash of food and supplies under the garage. Excited about the fact that her and her family won’t be starving if they can come and get the food she makes her way home. 

The Vampire enters stage left. While she was in the underground tunnels, this is how she got outside the wall, she runs into a vampire who is having a 4 course meal. The vampire however lets her live.

“And you, little wildcat, I suspect you have claws you wouldn’t hesitate to use. I find I am in no mood for another fight, so consider yourself lucky. You met a heartless, soulless bloodsucker and lived. Next time, it might be very different.” 
Allie does make her way back to the school and collects Stick, Lucas (the leader and maybe her future boyfriend) and Rat (the newest member who is a mean bully). They make their way back to where Allie found the supplies and suddenly things go really wrong. Their worst nightmare happens. A storm starts up and while trying to out run the worst of it Rabids show up. 

Will they be able to escape with their lives and their food? Who is this strange Vampire who uses the underground tunnels? 
My thoughts:
I have to say that this book took me  a while to really get into. It is broken up into 4 parts. The first 2 parts were choppy and felt a little like information overload. I feel like it was all about setting up the background so we can get to the actual story. 
Part 1 is about the summary I provided. Allie’s struggles with day to day life. In this part you get your first look at what the Rabid look like. 
“It had been human once, that was the most horrible thing about it. It still had a vaguely human face and emaciated body, though its skin, nearly pure white and stretched tightly across its bones, looked more skeleton than human. The tattered threads of what had been clothes hung on its frame, and its hair was tangled and matted. Its eyes were white orbs with no irises or pupils, just a blank, dead white.”

Part 2 you get to meet the Vampire you read about in Part 1. I will say he calls himself Kanin and I actually enjoyed his character. This part reminds me of the Movie I am Legend. 
I am Legend
Halfway through Part 3 was when this book started kicking into gear. I will say that our Main Male Character isn’t introduced till now. I wanted more time to read and fall in love with his character and felt a little short changed about him being introduced so late in the book. 
Our Mystery Man of the Hour!
Josh Hutcherson: Playing Peeta Mellark in 'The Hunger Games' Drives Me Crazyhttps://i2.wp.com/media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m15bj93nh91r3la3n.gif
“The mighty hunter,” I quipped as we snuck out the back door, escaping into the yard. “He can take down vicious rabids and rampaging boars, but one old lady can make him flee in terror.”
Part 4 brought her back to her beginning situation all over again, but this time the plot picks up much faster and then it soars. I thought the ending was brilliant and made the first half bearable. I have high hopes for the next book now that the background etc. has been written. 
“I might be a monster, but I can be human, too. I can choose to be human.”


Overall I enjoyed the book thanks to the last half. If you find that the beginning is taking a while just hang in there because I have a feeling this series will continue to keep getting better.
Thank you Netgalley for providing me with a copy of this book to review.
-Amanda
9 thoughts on “Review : The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

  1. Book Slave says:

    Hi there, I will remember this when I start reading the book. Thanks for that and great review. Book Enslaved

  2. Thanks Book Enslaved! ;o)

  3. Great review!! I added it to my TBR list. I'm a new follower and just wanted to drop by and say hi :)Feel free to check out my blog & follow too!!-Riya πŸ™‚ (The Teen Book Guru)

  4. I know some people were having a hard time getting comments to go through. I hope that I have fixed it and am sorry for the frustration.

  5. I'm definitely putting this book in my TBR list! Sounds very interesting! Thanks for the great review and pics! ❀

  6. Thanks! It was good and I am hoping the next one is even better! *fingers crossed*

  7. Eli Yanti says:

    still waiting this book to come, i hope it soon, because i cant wait to read it. good review πŸ™‚

  8. Juana says:

    im very interested in reading this book i will put it on my list. Thank you for the great review.

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click hereΒ to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

