Review : Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James

2

March 6, 2012 by thebookslayer

Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James
 
Rated : 5/5 Stars *****
 
This is a great down to earth, real life story. If you don’t want to read about the hard knocks of life then this probably isn’t a book for you. But I find it refreshing to take a walk on the other side of the tracks. How can you not feel for Fifty Shades? The poor man was basically kicked when he was down and then tied up and left for dead. Okay not literally, but you get the idea. 

You have been warned that this book is not for the faint of heart! 

Recommend: I thought at first it would be like Cherise Sinclair’s Masters of the Shadowlands, but it turned out more like Stacia Kane’s Downside Ghosts. 

It is gritty and deeply emotional with the hope of a better tomorrow. 

Moving on… 
The scene that unfolds in the beginning still makes me laugh and turn red from embarrassment for Ana. Ana gets roped into an interview with a local tycoon by her sick roommate Kate. She shows up and right away she doesn’t fit in. The place is all types of black, white and shades of gray not to mention all the female blondes working for Christian Grey. Ana gets the surprise of her life when she stumbles head first into his office. Christian helps her up and she is faced with a 27 year old drool worthy man. They proceed on to the interview and she ends up asking him if he is “gay” to all number of personal questions thanks to Kate. However a spark is there the whole time between them and the pull was more then they bargained for.Christian shows up in her neck of the woods specifically her job and then one things leads to another and they end up seeing much more of each other. But Christian comes with a past and has very odd tendencies. They are on either end of the spectrum. Can Ana and Christian compromise enough to make it work or will the pull not be enough to let go of their past and insecurities?

 

Extras 

Things I loved: 
*I loved how Christian was real. I mean he came from a horrible background and has risen above it. I love his nickname Ana gives him as well… Fifty Shades, her Fifty Shades. He did however remind me of Edward from ‘Twilight’ with his self-loathing. 


 


*I usually love strong female characters who are tough as nails and Ana is but she has an innocents about her. We get to see her stretch and grow. 

*Jose annoyed me, but just like Jacob in ‘Twilight’ I wanted to smack him around and say “The girl said No! Get it No! <sigh> I don’t know what else I can say about that. 

*Throughout this book I kept hearing the song ‘Moves Like Jagger’ by Maroon 5 Click here to listen and watch Moves Like Jagger by Maroon 5 


Warning: The ending has a major Cliff hanger. I am not joking when I say, I cried and ranted at my nook till I was able to purchase the next book. You have been warned! 

Favorite Quotes 

“Why don’t you like to be touched?” 
“Because I’m fifty shades of fucked-up, Anastasia” 

“You have to kiss a lot of frogs before you find your prince” 

“He’s naked except for those soft ripped jeans, top button casually undone. Jeez, he looks so freaking hot. My subconscious is frantically fanning herself, and my inner goddess is swaying and writhing to some primal carnal rhythm.”

“This is a man in need. His fear is naked and obvious, but he’s lost. . . Somewhere in his darkness. 
His eyes wide and bleak and tortured. I can soothe him. Join him briefly in the darkness and bring him into the light.” 

“What is it about elevators?” 

Overall it was an excellent book. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a story on how to survive and thrive when faced with insurmountable obstacles. 
 
-Amanda
2 thoughts on “Review : Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James

  1. loved these books, I have my review posted on my blog too.http://tana-someofmyfavoritebooks.blogspot.com/

  2. […] My Fifty Shades of Grey Review    My Fifty Shades Darker Review […]

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

