Book Review : Beyond by T.P. Boje

Leave a comment

January 20, 2012 by thebookslayer

Rated: 4/5 Stars ****

I have to hand it to T.P. Bojoe. This book takes the Afterlife places I hadn’t thought about. Mainly, the fact that once you die you get send to an Academy to learn about the new you, was an intriguing concept.

Recommend: Young Adults and Adults who enjoy a good Angels Vs. Demons story.

I kept hearing the song Sail by Awolnation as I was reading this book. It had an otherworldly vive to it that reminds me of the song. Plus, the opening scene Meghan,the main character, is sailing on a ship in the sky. Feel free to listen to the track while reading the first chapter. The section you are looking for starts around page 8.

Now on to the things I loved about this book:

 1) I loved the Thinking Chair. I loved how it could read minds and take you where you want to go. I keep picturing the foot stool that used to be a dog on Beauty and the Beast.

2) Professor Grange was an interesting character. I loved that he carried his head around under his arm while teaching. Kinda has that Sleeping Hollow feel to it.

3) The love story between Meghan and Jason rated up there with West Side Story.

4) Angels Vs. Demons Do I really need to say more? Fighting for Souls in the Afterlife.

5) The ending surprised me, in a good way. I felt like it was a lesson that most people could benefit from.

Things I did not like:

1) I was not a fan of  Mick. I thought at first I might like him but then I did not. I just kept going back and forth. Therefore, I have decided that Jason is the guy I am sticking with.

2) The Hebrew terms/names for the Angels were a little hard for me to pronounce so I ended up dubing them Angels and so on. I think this is why it took about 80 pages for me to get into. The terminology was a little complicated for a Young Adult book, in my mind.

I am looking forward to reading the next book in her Afterlife Series. The ending kep you on the edge and hoping for a better tomorrow.

Thanks to T.P. Boje and Paranormal Romance & Urban Fantasy Fanatics! group for giving me a copy in exchange for an honest review. This book is definitely worth purchasing and reading.

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

