Book Review : Matched by Ally Condie

Leave a comment

December 15, 2011 by thebookslayer

Matched by Ally Condie


Rating : 4/5 Stars ****

DO NOT GO GENTLE INTO THAT GOOD NIGHT would be the motto of this book for me. I thought this book was better then I thought it would be. I liked the fact that it lets Teens out there know that it is okay to not conform and to be who you want to be and love who you want to love. It reminded me of the movie “Aeon Flux.” Everyone has a part to play and the government runs all. 

Recommend: To people of all ages who is just looking for a good book to read. 

Likes: 

*I enjoyed watching Cassia decide to not let others choose things for her. I think with todays society we need more people telling our youth that it is okay to be Bold, Strong, and to Follow Your Heart. 
*Ky brought in the mystery that I love and you can’t help but love him. 
*I like Xander however, I was hoping that Ky would win in the end. 
*Ally Condie really took me to a different world but made it believable. It rang true in the sense that if people didn’t fight for freedom this, her world, would be the outcome. 

Not So Much: 

*I thought that the plot was good, however, it got slow in some parts and seemed to gloss over others. 
*I was hoping for a little more then the one kiss Ky and Cassia shared at the end of the book. I know, I know, it is a YA book but come on. 
*It was good but not a page turner for me. I don’t think it is a re-read either. 

Fav. Quotes: 

Do not go gentle into that good night, 
Old age should burn and rage at close of day; 
Rage, rage against the dying of the light. 
Though wise men at their end know dark is right, 
Because their words had forked no lightning they 
Do not go gentle into that good night. ” 


Every minute you spend with someone gives them a part of your life and takes part of theirs.” 


It is strange how we hold on to the pieces of the past while we wait for our futures.” 


Cassia. 
I know which life is my real one now, no matter what happens. It’s the one with you. For some reason, knowing that even one person knows my story makes things different. Maybe it’s like the poem says. Maybe this is my way of not going gentle. 
I love you. (Ky Markham)” 


Ky can play this game. He can play all of their games, including the one in front of him that he just lost. He knows exactly how to play, and that’s why he loses every time.” 


So in the middle of all the noise, I point to the sky. I hope he understands what I mean, because I mean so many things: My heart will always fly his name. I won’t go gentle. I’ll find a way to soar like the angels in the stories and I will find him. And I know he understands as he looks straight at me, deep into my eyes. His lips move silently, and I know what he says: the words of a poem that only two people in the world know. Tears well up but I blink them away. Because if there is one moment in my life that I want to see clearly, this is it.” 


They are giving us pieces of a real life instead of the whole thing. They have perfected the art of giving us just enought freedom; just enough that when we are ready to snap, a little bone is offered and we roll over, belly up, comfortable and placated like a dog… – Cassia” 
Ally Condie
Website / Twitter / Goodreads

-Amanda
Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

