Book Review : A Night to Surrender by Tessa Dare

Leave a comment

December 15, 2011 by thebookslayer

A Night to Surrender by Tessa Dare

Rating : 3/5 Stars ***

The words “We’re Men. We’re men in tights. (Tight Tights)” come to mind when I read this book. The book was a good read. Not one I would re-read but worth reading once. It has some really funny parts and some sad parts. 

Recommend: It is a good vacation book esp. if you like historical romance.

Likes: 

*I thought it was fun that there was a place over run by spinsters. Those poor, poor men. For example the Tavern was called “The Blushing Pansy.” It was also a tea shop. 
*Bram was a fitting Hero. A wounded war hero that just wanted to do what he does best, lead men. 
*Colin,Bram’s cousin, was probably one of my favorite characters. Trying to turn these men into real men was really funny. 
*Be prepared they boom sheep in the book. lol Really the scene was funny. 

Things that I was not a fan of: 

*Some things didn’t transition very well for me. It seemed more like an outline. I wasn’t pulled in, could have skimmed. 
*Susanna’s Father was a very selfish man and I have to say that made me very sad. Even at the end I wish it would have resolved itself more. 

Fav. Quotes: 


“No, Susanna, ” he said. “I cannot love you just a little. If that’s what you want, you must find a different man.” His green eyes were breathtaking in their intensity. His thumb brushed her bottom lip. “Because I can only love you entirely. With everything I am, and everything I ever will be. Body, mind, heart, soul.” 



“No, no. Don’t make that face. Every time I propose to you, you make that twisty, unhappy face. It wears on a man’s confidence.” 




(“He pierced her with a look. “I thought we had an agreement. I keep my men away from your ladies, and you keep your distance from me. You’re not holding your end of the bargain.” 
“It’s but a momentary interruption. Just this once.” 
“Just this once?” He made a dismissive noise, rifling through papers. “What about just now in the church?” 
“Very well, twice.” 
“Try again.” He stacked his papers and looked up, devouring her with his intent green gaze. “You invaded my dreams at least a half-dozen times last night. When I’m awake, you keep traipsing through my thoughts. Sometimes you’re barely clothed. What excuse can you make for that?” 
She stammered to form a response, her tongue tripping against her teeth. “I . . . I would never traipse.” Idiotic reply. 
“Hm.” He tilted his head and regarded her thoughtfully. “Would you saunter?” ) 



“Colin stared at the officer. “Thorne, you scare me. I’m not ashamed to say it.” 



“The Blushing Pansy,” his cousin read aloud, in a tone of abject horror. “Tea shop and confectionery.” 
Bram swore. This was going to be ugly.” 
Tessa Dare
Website / Twitter / Facebook / Goodreads

-Amanda
Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

