Jess the books are posted for May! Plus my review of City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare

2

May 2, 2011 by thebookslayer

Jess this post is for you. I have updated my most wanted list for May with all the books coming out. If you click on the links you can see what day! Enjoy. Heads up Hard Bitten and Bite Club come out May 3rd, but don’t forget about The Forgotten Locket.

Now back to Reviews. I have read quite a few books this month. I should dedicate this past month of April to Historical Romance’s.  I seem to have tired more books from this area than any other. However, most have not been excellent books so I will not bore you. I have a goal of writing a review for each book I have read this year and so you can click on the link for MommaSeymour on goodreads and see my reviews. I am 97 books in so some reviews might be a while.

City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare 5/5 stars

This is book number 4 in the Mortal Instruments Series and quite an unexpected surprise! We the reader get to finally see Clary and Jace as a couple. I must admit that was most the reason of the excitement of this book for me. The opening scene is of Simon and Isabel. Don’t worry we still see Clary and Jace later.

Simon, Simon, Simon! He is a two timing man by accident. An accident you say? Well lets just say that he never said that he was ever exclusively dating either and they  just took it as such. The other unsuspecting girl is Maia. We saw a little of her in the previous books as well. This throws wrenches in all of his plans as he tries to decide which girl he needs to break up with. I for one think Isabel is better suited for him. She may be tough and cold, but I feel a guy like Simon can actually see her for who she is.

Now on to Clary and Jace. My excitement picks up when we get to see them training together. Great scenes scattered throughout the book. However there is a lot of tension between them as well. You would think about everything they went through in the first 3 books that they would trust each other more, but sadly no. When will they learn. I would say more, but really you should read it.

Demon hunting abounds with the added twist of the shadowhunters showing up dead as well. The mystery gets more in depth from there. I tell you this book will keep you on your toes.

***Sneak Peek- Someone comes back from the Dead!***

Now you know it is a rare book when I have nothing bad to say about it. I did in fact run into some things I didn’t like about this book. I felt it changed views a little too much. I felt like I was getting whiplash.  On top of that I was hoping that Clary and Jace would have a smoother ride. They are very small complaints but they were still there for me. It is still an Excellent Read!

City of Fallen Angels, 4th book in Mortal Instruments Series, is 424 pages long with many different view points. Everyone has secrets. It will tear some apart, but there are a few that will hold on and become closer. I loved having this book and the ones to come so that we may get the full story of Jace and Clary, not to mention Simon. It really is a must read for those who have read the Mortal Instruments.

Cassandra Clare and the Mortal Instruments Series can be found at:
website / Blog / Twitter / Facebook

Feel free to leave comments about what you thought of this book. I enjoy reading other people’s opinions.
-Amanda

2 thoughts on “Jess the books are posted for May! Plus my review of City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare

  1. Donna says:

    Loved the review. I think I'm going to add it to my list. I am your new follower. I would love a visit/follow back if you have a moment. Also I have a giveaway going on. http://mylife-in-stories.blogspot.com

  2. Colleen says:

    Thanks for linking to this on my blog! I am so excited to continue with the series; summer break (and thus more free time) can't come soon enough!Thanks for visiting my blog!

Leave a Reply

Amanda


I love reading, blogging, pinning all the things on pinterest, wine, whiskey, tequila, and coffee.

Follow on Goodreads

Follow on Pinterest

Tweet

Linky

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Currently Reading

